Mallorca

I have been wanting to make this Puerto Rican pastry for a while.  I first learned about Mallorca from Andrew Zimmern on his “Bizarre Foods” (and I don’t know why this was in the Bizarre Foods category, but whatever, right?).   It looked sooooo good I immediately started looking for the recipe.  We were even planning a Spring Break trip to Puerto Rico (which will not happen this year since we’ll be going to Peru in the Summer instead) and was looking forward to eating the “real” Mallorca.  After looking at different Mallorca recipes I found one that looked really promising and good on The Noshery (and I felt like I could trust this food blogger since she is originally from Puerto Rico). 

Originally called ensaïmada from Majorca, Spain, this delicious pastry came along with the Spanish colonist to Puerto Rico.  This pastry doesn’t need kneading, light in texture but has substantial richness to it.  It is most often sprinkled with powdered sugar and eaten as it is, or made into a sandwich (with powdered sugar). 

IMG_0502

Makes about 12-14 Mallorca:

  • 1 pkg dry yeast (2-1/4 teaspoons dry yeast)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 4 to 5 cups all purpose flour, divided use
  • 1 cup milk, lukewarm
  • 1 cup water, lukewarm
  • 6 egg yolks
  • 1/2 lb. butter (2 sticks), melted and cooled to lukewarm – I just used 1-1/2 sticks. 

In a mixing bowl, pour lukewarm milk and water, sprinkle yeast in add sugar and 1 cup of the flour. Set aside until the mixture starts to rise about 45 minutes.

IMG_0488
(This is what the yeast mixture looks like after 45 minutes)

Beat the egg yolks into the mixture, blending very well. Add the remaining flour little by little. Add 1/2 the melted butter (1 stick)  and set aside until it has doubled in bulk, about 1 hour.

Dust the board where the dough will be rolled out with a little flour to prevent dough from sticking, keep some flour handy for dusting. Divide dough into 12 equal portions. Roll out each portion, brush with butter and roll into a long strip.
IMG_0489
(I would say this is about 12-13 inches long)

IMG_0490
Form into a coil, insert the inner end making sure it’s tucked in, same with the other end of the roll.
IMG_0491
IMG_0494
Butter top. Place on greased baking sheets. Use 2 baking sheets placing 6-8 rolls on each sheet. Cover and let rolls rise until they have doubled in size.
IMG_0496
(I love Winter baking, because whenever I need my dough to rise, I just put them on my radiator right  next to the  kitchen window  where direct the sun comes in!)

Bake at 375 degrees F about 12-15 minutes. Cool on cooling rack and dust with poweder sugar.

IMG_0497
IMG_0499
IMG_0504

My opinion: As I said, this is rich (without weighing down kind of feeling).  The pastry itself is soft, tender and almost flaky.  I made exactly 13 Mallorca and within less than 2 days they were all gone!!  Believe me, this is a good size pastry!!  We mostly ate this for breakfast on the weekend and we immensely enjoyed it!!  For me, this wasn’t too difficult to make, but if you’re not used to working with yeast and bread/pastry dough you will have to be patient as you learn to “communicate” with them.  I’m thinking of making this again soon, maybe this coming week!

2 thoughts on “Mallorca

Leave a Reply

