Ice-Cream Cone Cupcakes

I am in a very complaining mood this morning.  Mornings weren’t serene even as a working single person.  Mornings are even crazier married with children.   One of my daughter had to take some treats for her class party today;  in the past I’ve made different breads, cakes and cookies.  Stupid me wanted to make something different and I caused myself unnecessary headaches this morning. 

I’ve made Ice-Cream Cone Cupcakes in the past, but not for school.  That meant make the actual cupcakes the day before and wake up early to make the frosting and decorate.  Since the party isn’t until late morning I had to make sure that the frostings were fresh (thus I couldn’t make this beforehand).   I usually don’t use store bought frostings and I don’t like buttercream frostings, but for this occasion I had to put my aversion aside and use butter in the frosting.  I also wanted the frosting to be fluffy, so once again I used something I never would use… Marshmallow Fuff. 

You need to understand, there are some things I don’t use:  cake mixes, packaged frostings, cream soup in cans, highly processed foods in cans or packages, artificial stuffs, artificial coloring dye, etc, etc.   Yes, you can call me any type of names you want, but the thing is I don’t mind others using these, I personally don’t like using them.  So today, I felt like I compromised on my standards for the good of the young people in my daughter’s class, but I will go on!    In the past when I made this, I simply whipped some cream and piped it on top of the cupcakes – really delicious!!  You can even drizzle some chocolate syrup or add melted chocolate into the whipped cream – yum!!

IMG_0707

Before I go into the actual recipes, let me show you how I prepped for baking.  It’s a bit tricky baking these cuties – in the past I used muffin pans, but was always afraid the cones will tip over.  So this is how I amended the problem:

Take two disposable rectangular aluminum pans (9×13” or larger) and invert it.  Measure the diameter of the ice-cream cone base.  Slit or cut out large enough for the cone base to fit. 
IMG_0690
IMG_0691

Makes 2-1/2 dozen ice-cream cone cupcakes:

Cake:  Use any cupcake recipes you like, but my recipe came from the Food Network (which I changed quite a bit). 

1-3/4 cups cake flour
1-1/4 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1 Tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon salt
1-1/2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into cubes
4 large eggs
1 cup milk (don’t use skim milk)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350F.  Combine all the dry ingredients together and sift them well.  Add in cubed butter, mixing until just coated with flour. 

Add eggs 1 at a time until combined.  Slowly add milk and vanilla to batter until completely mixed (scraping down the bowl as you mix). 

Scoop the batter into the ice-cream cones filling about 2/3 full.  Bake until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, about 18-20 minutes.  Let the cakes cool completely.  Note:  I put my cone holder pan on a baking sheet (for sturdiness sake), it’s much easier to take it out from your oven too.

IMG_0693
IMG_0695


Marshmallow Buttercream Filling:

I found this recipe here

1/2 cup butter (1 stick), softened
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups marshmallow fluff
3 cups of powdered sugar
1-2 teaspoons milk, if needed
Beat butter in the bowl of electric mixer until creamy. Add in fluff and beat for 2-3 minutes, then add in vanilla extract. With the mixer on low speed, add in powdered sugar 1 cup at a time until fully incorporated. Once all the sugar has been added, beat on medium-high speed for 2-3 minutes. If mixture if too runny, add a bit more sugar. If it’s too thick, add a bit of milk one teaspoon at a time.

Put the frosting in a piping bag, or a one gallon plastic storage bag (just snip off the edge).
IMG_0698
IMG_0701
Pipe the frosting onto the cooled cupcakes and decorate.
IMG_0702
IMG_0705
IMG_0706

All done!! I’m going to get myself a cup of coffee!!

Leave a Reply

