Cinnamon Sugar Crusted Coffee Cake Muffins

It’s been about a month of cloudy days.  Occasionally the sun peaks in, but most days have been over casted sky with pop up thunder storms.  We had 2 weeks of hot and humid weather, however, from few days ago we’ve returned to Spring-like temperature.  I’m not complaining, I’m loving it very much!  I know it won’t last, so to take advantage of this cool weather I decided to make some muffins from this site! 

IMG_1434

(makes 12)

  • 1-¾ cup flour
  • 1-½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ½ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ⅓ cup oil
  • ¾ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • ¾ cup milk

For the Cinnamon Sugar Topping:

  • 1/4 cup butter, melted (I only used 1/8 cup and it was enough)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon cinnamon

Preheat the oven to 350º. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
In a separate, large bowl, combine oil, sugar, egg and milk. Add dry ingredients and stir only to combine.
Coat your muffin pan well with nonstick cooking spray and divide the batter evenly among the cups.
IMG_1421
Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.
Run a knife around the sides of the muffin and shake them out of the pan while still hot.
Melt the butter in a bowl. Combine the white sugar with the cinnamon in another bowl.
Dip muffins in butter, then into the sugar/cinnamon mix. Let cool.

IMG_1424
IMG_1423

My opinion:

This muffin tastes like muffin, but also tastes like a donut.  No lie here.  I can’t say it completely tastes like donut, but this is such a healthier alternative to eating donuts.  I’m kicking myself for not making 2 dozen, because once my children come back home from school most of these will be gone!!  I’ll have to make these again, oh yeah, I’ll save at least 1 for my husband! 

Leave a Reply

