Cowboy Casserole

Today is the Father’s Day, and sadly, my desire to cook has gone away as the Summer quickly approaches.  We don’t like going out to eat during these “special” days, because most good restaurants are crowded and some even jack up the price during these special days!!!  What to do, what to do??  I don’t feel like cooking, but we don’t want to eat out either?!! 

Dear readers, if you know me by now, I’m not the preachy type.  However, throughout my blog I have made my preference to use and eat organic, locally grown produce, food with no GMO, preservatives, etc, etc  known to you fairly clearly.  I never pushed my desire on you, I may have encouraged you to choose your food source wisely, but never forced you.  I am ashamed to admit to you that I have truly fallen from my standards today.  Out of desperation to cook something (and believe me, when I’m not in the mood to cook I become really picky about what I want to cook), I have chosen a recipe that I would usually avoid.  But a slight sin is allowed once in a while, right??  You will love this  Cowboy Casserole if you love American diner type of food.

IMG_1478

  • 1/2 pound lean ground beef (90% lean)
  • 1 can (8-3/4 ounces) whole kernel corn, drained (I used frozen peas)
  • 2/3 cup condensed cream of chicken soup, undiluted
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese, divided
  • 1/3 cup 2% milk
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 3/4 teaspoon onion powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • 2 cups frozen Tater Tots
  • In a large skillet, cook beef over medium heat until no longer pink. Stir in the corn, soup, 1/4 cup cheese, milk, sour cream, onion powder and pepper.
  • Place 1 cup Tater Tots in a greased 3-cup baking dish. Layer with beef mixture and remaining Tater Tots; sprinkle with remaining cheese. Bake, uncovered, at 375° for 20-25 minutes or until bubbly. Yield: 2 servings.

IMG_1479
IMG_1480

My opinion:

This tastes a lot like the Shepherd’s Pie, but with tater tots.  Truly a comfort food and we all enjoyed eating this (despite feeling guilty just for a short while).  Ofcourse, I add to increase the quantity to make a 9×13 pan.   I like this so much I’m going to try up with a slightly healthier and less guilty version of this once the weather becomes cooler.

Leave a Reply

