Berry Topped White Cupcakes

I am going to deviate a bit today and post something that was made yesterday (hopefully my 8 other posts in queue will not revolt!).   For the past few months whenever we have Early Dismissals from school I have been giving baking lessons to my daughters (ages 14 & 12) and one of their friend.  They weren’t quite interested in cooking/baking even a year ago, but now that they are showing active interests I grabbed onto the opportunity.  When I was their age I used to hover around the kitchen to see what my mom was cooking & baking, but she would always shoo me away because she didn’t want to be bothered teaching me (understandably so since she was a single mom who worked 2 jobs).  I kind of resented that and took it upon myself to learn how to cook through experimenting and making lots of mistakes.  I also want my kids to experiment in the kitchen, however, I wanted to make sure I at least teach them the basics.

Anyway, today’s post is something like a “guest post” – because my 14 year old daughter and her friend took some time to bake these delicious cupcakes!  The recipe is from Taste of Home.

berry topped white cupcakes

Makes: 22 cupcakes

  • 5 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 cup sugar, divided
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2-1/4 cups cake flour
  • 2-1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup milk

Frosting:

  • 4 ounces  cream cheese, softened
  • 1/3 cup butter, softened
  • 2 cups confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • Assorted berries
  • Place egg whites in a large bowl; let stand at room temperature for 30 minutes. In another bowl, cream butter and 3/4 cup sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt; add to creamed mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.
  •    Beat egg whites on medium speed until soft peaks form. Gradually beat in remaining sugar, about 2 tablespoons at a time, on high until stiff glossy peaks form and sugar is dissolved. Fold a fourth of the egg whites into batter; fold in remaining whites.
  •    With a spoon, gently fill foil- or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. Bake at 350° for 18-22 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.
  •    For icing, in a small bowl, beat cream cheese and butter until smooth. Gradually beat in confectioners’ sugar and lemon juice. Frost cupcakes. Top with berries.

berry topped white cupcakes 2

My opinion:  These are really delicious! The cupcake itself is like Angel Cake (but a bit more dense and moist); we really liked the frosting too! Since it combines cream cheese and butter it tastes and feels lighter plus a hint of lemon juice is refreshing.  More than the cupcakes, it gave me greater pleasure to see the girls feeling more comfortable and confident as they tackled new challenges each time and seeing smiles on their faces!  Job well done girls!!

P.S.  The serving plate I used was designed and made by my friend and her husband!  They run a nice tableware store Antshop in Yokohama, Japan.

2 thoughts on “Berry Topped White Cupcakes

  1. What did you do with all the egg yolks? The cupcakes look delicious. !’m glad that your daughters are starting to enjoy cooking, I’am also teaching my 14 year old daughter to cook, and my 12 year old son too. They both love it. Thanks for stopping by my blog, Enjoy the rest of your week!

  2. We have same aged kids! and yay to you for teaching your son how to cook! You know, with much trepidation I bought one of those “egg whites” only carton. I was so scared it would not fluff up, but I sighed a huge relief when I saw them foam! Have a good Friday and enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

