Pineapple Upside Down Cake with Cardamom and Rum

Today is Mother’s Day… I came to realize that Mother’s Days are fun when the children are little, cute and cuddly OR when they are old enough to either cook or buy things for you without the prompting nor the assistance from the father.   I am caught in between this cute, cuddly stage and semi-independent kids, sigh…  the woes of having tweens (ages 9 and 11) get to my heart…
I woke up this morning thinking maybe the kids would have woken up early to make breakfast, a simple breakfast.  My expectations weren’t  high so I seriously wasn’t expecting much.  What awaited me at 8:30am  was… nothing…   No “Happy Mother’s Day”, nothing.  Steve woke up around the same time and he started making breakfast for me, so I suggested for him to wake up the girls and have them partake in this prep.  When the girls came down to the kitchen all they can say were “oh, mom, Happy Mother’s Day, seriously, we remembered it, really” .  I usually have mindful kids, but it was kind of a let down for me.   As the day progressed I reheated the left over for lunch  and endured listening to the girls’ bickering and fighting over stupidest stuffs.   Don’t misunderstand me, I got treated to great sushi and a nice pair of earrings yesterday from Steve, but since my girls are getting older I was expecting a little more than what they gave or didn’t give to me.  I wasn’t necessarily looking for material gifts, but for me, a perfect gift would have been the ones I can say “it’s the thought that counts”.   Anyway, I decided to bake myself a cake, yes, I was born a female and die a female, and for me that means eternally having this sweet tooth where I love and appreciate good pastries and desserts. 
I deviated from the Moosewood recipes, I got this recipe from Epicurious, but did adjust some measurements and ingredients to better suit me, and I think it came out pretty darn yummy! This is not your usual pineapple upside down cake for sure!  I love the balance of cardamom, rum, butter and brown sugar.  As you bite into the cake you can actually taste each component.  Please use fresh pineapples since they add wonderful natural sweetness and the consistency when you bite into this cake!

IMG_9979

So, here’s my version of this cake’s recipe:
For the topping:
1/2 medium pineapple, peeled, quartered lengthwise and cored
3/4 stick unsalted butter
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar

For batter:
1-1/2 cups cake flour
1-1/2 teaspoon ground cardamom
2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 stick unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar plus 1/2 cup Splenda
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Tablespoon dark rum
1/2 cup juice from the cut pineapples (my suggestion is to cup the pineapples few days in advance so that the juice can accumulate as the pineapple sits)
2 Tablespoons dark rum for sprinkling over cake

Preheat oven to 350F.
For the topping, melt the butter in a small saucepan.  Add brown sugar and simmer over moderate heat, stirring, 4 minutes.  Remove from heat and pour in a 10inch cake pan (make sure the side of the pan is well greased).  Arrange the pineapples on top of the sugar mixture. 
Sift together flour, cardamom, baking powder, and salt.  Beat butter in a large bowl until light and fluffy, then gradually beat in sugar.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Beat in vanilla and rum.  Add half of flour mixture and beat until blended.  Beat in pineapple juice, then add remaining flour mixture, beating just until blended. 
Spoon batter over pineapple topping and spread evenly.  Bake cake in middle of oven until golden (about 45minutes).  Let cake stand in the pan 5 minutes.  Invert a plate over the pan and invert cake onto plate.  If any pineapple slices slipped off just replace them back on the cake.  Sprinkle rum over cake and cool on plate on a rack. 
Serve cake warm or at room temperature.

5 thoughts on “Pineapple Upside Down Cake with Cardamom and Rum

  1. don t worry sweetie, i didn t get any presies yesterday either, i made breakfast, my son forgot, i think… but, then again, here in Antwerp and many other areas in Belgium, real mother's day is celebrated august 15th, so i better not say too much until then.HOWEVER, that cake does sound and look scrumptious, i especially like the addition of cardamom, that is such a wonderful spice… so fragrant… zetttai ni tsukette miru… eeergh, btw, what s Splenda?

  2. I guess moms' jobs are gone unappreciated until the kids are much older… Splenda is a sugar substitue we use here. I'm sure you have something like that in Belgium? Splenda is derived from sugar so I like that much better than other sugar subsitutes, also I can bake with Splenda (other sugar subs don't do well with cooking and baking).

  3. yeah, i know what you mean, i guess kids will only know once they have kids themselves, but even then LOLbut i could just use sugar right… i m thinking an unrefined one? i don t quite trust sugar substitutes… don t trust margarine either, they ve all been chemically altered so i tend to veer away from them.once exam is over, i think i ll be baking and trying out your recipes!

  4. great! i ll let you know how the cake turns out ne!and thx again, benkyou sena akan kedo… itsumo pasokon de asonderu dake mitai… hahaaa… daijobu, nankai ka text yonde, it s all connected with the practical side of the course, so, unless he (our teacher) sneaks in a trick question, i think (hope) it ll be ok.dewa, signing off now!

Leave a Reply

