Tunisian Potato Omelet and Versatile Vinaigrette with salad

IMG_9995
As much as I love to cook, there are many days where I don’t feel like cooking.  Especially as the Summer time is approaching I’m feeling this dread in my stomach!  We don’t have central AC so merely turning on a stovetop is an effort for me (forget about turning on the oven!!)  So I told myself to enjoy this relative cool weather we’ve been having to just cook and bake! 
Last night I made Tunisian omelet and went out to run some errand.  When I came back home around 9pm and opened the door I was overwhelmed by the still wafting smell of garlic and spices!!  I felt like I died and went to heaven!  I just stood at my front porch just inhaling all that delicious smell 🙂

Tunisian Potato Omelet: serves 4
IMG_9993
Spicy Tomato Sauce:
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil or olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced
1/2 to 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground caraway
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 15ounce can of diced tomatoes

Potato Omelet:
2 Tablespoons olive oil
1-1/2 cups diced onions
1 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons ground caraway
2 teaspoons ground coriander
2 cups diced potatoes
6 eggs
1/2 cup grated Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese

Make the Spicy Tomato Sauce: Warm the oil in a small saucepan.  Sizzle the garlic in the oil for a few seconds.  Add the pepper flakes, salt, caraway, and coriander and cook briefly, about 30 seconds.  Add the tomatoes and bring to a simmer.  Simmer on low heat, stirring occasionally, while you prepare the omelet. 
Omelet: Warm the oil in a large well-seasoned or nonstick skillet, add the onions, and cook on medium-high heat for about 3 minutes, until they soften and begin to turn translucent.  Stir in the salt, caraway, coriander, and potatoes and cook for about a minute.  Add 1/4 cup of water, cover, and cook on medium-low heat until the potatoes are tender, 10-15 minutes.  Stir often and check for sticking; add more water if necessary. While the potatoes cook, in a bowl, beat the eggs with 2 Tablespoons of water.  When the potatoes are tender, pour the eggs over them and cook on medium-low heat.  When the eggs begin to set, lift the cooked edges while you tilt the pan so the uncooked egg slips under, onto the hot skillet.  Sprinkle on cheese, cover, and cook on low heat until the eggs are set and the cheese is melted.
Divide the omelet into quarters.  Serve hot, cold or at room temperature, topped with Spicy Tomato Sauce. 

My opinion: Few changes I made – for the spicy tomato sauce instead of adding 1/4 teaspoon salt I added about 1 teaspoon and simmered for a while until the sauce was reduced to half.  I also didn’t have ground caraway and too lazy to ground them so I used whole caraway seeds, which in turn added nice bite into the sauce and omelet.  I just love when we heat up the spices in the oil, such wonderful aroma!  Also, next time instead of 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese I’ll add 1/3 cup, for us it was a bit too cheesy taste:-)  I usually use gold potatoes (Yukon Golds) and here, instead of cooking in the pan I pre-diced the raw potatoes and microwaved to cook, and added into the sauteed onions.   Once again, this dish was a great hit and we’ll definitely try this in the near future!

Versatile Vinaigrette: yields 1-1/3 cups
IMG_9989
1/3 cup vinegar or lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
1 garlic clove, pressed
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1 cup extra virgin olive oil

Either whisk together all the of the ingredients or whirl them in a blender for a few seconds.  Vinaigrette will keep in the frig for weeks.  When cold, the oil tends to become milky-looking, partially solidified, so remove the dressing from the frig and let it sit at room temperature for 15-20 minutes before serving.

My opinion: Very refreshing taste! Complimented really well with the Tunisian omelet.  You can add pretty much any veggies/fruits you like.  For ours, I added blanched green beans, sliced cooked potatoes (gold potatoes), carrots, tomatoes, avocadoes, radishes, chickpeas, and apples.

Leave a Reply

