Refreshing Soon Dubu (Soft Tofu Stew)

It’s been a while since I cooked Korean foods since we started on this vegetarian journey.  I always told my family and friends that I need to eat rice and kimchi (or something spicy) almost daily to feel like I ate something.  When we travel and we can’t eat Korean foods, as soon as I come home I’ll just cook up some spicy hot ramen, or if I have left  rice in the fridge I reheat the rice and eat with kimchi.  So, instead of cooking Moosewood recipes tonight I cooked up some rice, made dashi tamago (Japanese style omelet), and  cut up some seasoned Korean style nori for the kiddies.  For the adults I brought out my Korean stew ceramic bowl and started to cook one of my favorite, Soon du bu chiggae.  I usually like spicy hot, but for this I added less red pepper flakes (I knew kids will want some too).  It’s not spicy but rather refreshing, thus the name “Refreshing Soon Dubu”.
IMG_0009
1 Tablespoon dark sesame oil
1 cup assorted seafoods (I put chopped baby octopus, squid, mussels, and shrimps)
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon Korean red pepper powder/flakes
dash of black pepper
3 garlic cloves, minced
3/4 cup low sodium chicken broth (or water)
1 cake of soft tofu
2 Shiitake mushrooms, sliced
1/2 onion, sliced
3 scallions, cut into 2 inch pieces
1 large egg

Heat the sesame oil in a medium size saucepan over medium heat.  Add the seafoods, saute for 2 minutes.  Then add the garlic and onions and saute for another few minutes.  Add salt, red pepper, black pepper and mushrooms, saute for few more minutes.  Add the broth and bring to boil.  Crumble tofu and carefully put inside the broth (Here in the states, at a Korean market we can get super soft tofu for this stew). 

Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  Add the scallions and egg and cook for 5 minutes.  Serve while hot with hot rice and kimchi. 

**  Chopped zucchini is also very delicious in this stew!  If you want spicier stew add more red pepper, and some people will add some soy sauce.  Needless to say, there are many variations to this recipe.  Just play around with it and come up with the taste you like the best!

2 thoughts on “Refreshing Soon Dubu (Soft Tofu Stew)

  1. wow, kore mo oishisou! i only ever had kalbi and bulgogi when i was in Korea… so it s a total revelation to see all these Korean recipes, also the ones you sent to me before… loving it! instead of mabo doufu, i might make this one tonite… see what Ken thinks (he s an unwavering mabo doufu fan…)

  2. I looooove mabo doufu too!! This stew is so different from mabo doufu and has it's unique way of wiggling itself into one's "favorite" list, at least that's for me. I made this last night again but a bit more spicier (just for me), it's truly is a comfort foor for me:-)

Leave a Reply

