Fettuccine with Fresh Herbs and Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad

Okay, back to Moosewood recipes!  The more I cook vegetarian, I thank God for fresh vegetables and herbs, but also for those animals providing us with precious milk to make dairies!!!  Yes, I am truly convinced I cannot be a Vegan nor I choose to (unless I somehow become allergic to all dairy products). This is in no way putting Vegans down, but it’s a simple realization that I cannot part with my dairies.   Today’s menu was fresh, fresh, fresh!!  I almost wished I had an outdoor patio or a nice deck with trees surrounding us so that we could have eaten this dinner outdoors. 
Fettuccine with Fresh Herbs: serves 4-6
IMG_0011
1 pound fettuccine or other pasta
1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
4 garlic cloves, minced or pressed
1/2 cup minced fresh parsley
1/2 cup minced fresh basil
1/2 cup minced chives or scallions
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
grated Parmesan or Pecorino Romano cheese (optional)

Bring a large covered pot of salted water to a boil.  Add the pasta and cook until al dente.
Meanwhile, prepare the garlic and herbs.  Warm the oil in a small pan on low heat. Add the garlic and cook for about a minute until the garlic is golden; don’t let it brown.  Add the herbs and cook for about 30 seconds, stirring constantly.  Remove from the heat, ladle about 1/2 cup of the hot pasta-cooking water into the pan, and set aside.
When the pasta is done, drain it.  Place the drained pasta in a serving bowl, add the herb and oil mixture and the salt and pepper, and toss well.  Toss in some grated cheese if you like.  Serve right away. 

My opinion: The burst of fragrance  when I added the herbs in the oil was so aromatic!  It made me want to just bathe in this herbal oil:-)  A great Summer time pasta dish.  You can pretty much add fresh herbs (ie. oregano, thyme, mint, etc).  You’re only cooking for 30 seconds so the herbs still retain their freshness. 

Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad: serves 4-6
IMG_0010
2 pounds tomatoes
12 ounces fresh mozzarella
1/4 cup chopped fresh basil
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil)
1/2 teaspoon salt
black pepper

Cut the tomatoes into 1/2 inch dice (about 4 cups).  Cut the mozzarella into 1/2 inch dice (about 1-1/2 cups).  Put them in a large serving bowl.  Add the basil.  Stir in the olive oil and the salt.  Add pepper to taste.  Serve at room temperature. 

My opinion: As you can see from my picture I arranged it a bit different.  Instead of dicing I sliced the tomatoes and mozzarella.  I also added sliced cucumbers.  I arranged them in a spiral, alternating between tomato, cheese and cucumber.  Sprinkled my flavorful  Himalayan pink salt, black pepper, and chopped basil, and drizzled with extra virgin olive oil.   This is also a wonderful Summer time salad, and the taste of tomatoes and other ingredients go really well together.  It’s truly a perfect union!

One thought on “Fettuccine with Fresh Herbs and Fresh Tomato & Mozzarella Salad

  1. looks totally delish! i love pasta with herbs, especially with pesto! and then insalata caprese on the side… yummy! you re on a roll here YangHwa!

Leave a Reply

