Cherry Shortbread Crumble

I usually make or bake something for my kids after school snacks.  Yesterday, I decided to try one from the Moosewood recipes. 

IMG_0017
16 ounces frozen pitted, sweet cherries without sugar or 3 cups pitted fresh
1 Tablespoon sugar
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup crumbled shortbread cookies or pecan sandies (about 8 cookies)

Preheat the oven to 425F.
Put the cherries into an unoiled 8 inch square baking pan or a 9 inch glass pie plate.  Sprinkle with the sugar and cinnamon and add 2 Tablespoons of water to the dish.  Bake for 15 minutes, and then remove from the oven.  Top with the crumbled cookies and bake until the cherries are bubbling and the crumbs are browned, about 10 minutes more. 
Serve warm, at room temperature, or cold. 

My opinion: Easy, easy, easy, is the key word here!  It’s also tasty, which is a huge advantage!  This dessert/snack will be great for :  last minute dessert idea, oops, guests just popped in and I don’t have any desserts! or I’m craving for something sweet but I don’t want any generic sweets.  However, in my humble opinion, if I have time, I will make my own crumble from scratch because I do like it that way, but this quick crumble is also good:-)

Leave a Reply

