Greek Frittata, Potatoes with Lemon & Capers, and Greek Salad

Can you guess what we ate tonight?!  Well, yeah, pretty obvious!  Tonight’s dinner was a Greek themed meal.  Once again, can I say that I’m glad I’m a vegetarian and not a vegan;  I don’t think I can live without my dairies, because I used tons of feta cheese tonight!  Vegan foods have their own appeals, but yes, I’ll stick with my dairires, wholesome organic dairies from the farmers I trust (sorry, I had to put that blurb in it). 
IMG_0103

Greek Frittata: serves 2
1/2 cup chopped scallions
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tablespoon olive oil
2 cups packed fresh baby spinach
1/2 teaspoon dried oregano or dill (1 teaspoon chopped fresh)
4 eggs
dashes of salt and pepper
1 small tomato, chopped
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese
IMG_0100

In a large skillet on medium-low heat, cook the scallions and garlic in the oil for a couple of minutes.  Add the spinach and the herbs if using dried.  Cook uncovered for 3 or 4 minutes, until the spinach is wilted. 
In a bowl, beat the eggs, a tablespoon of water, herbs if using fresh, and salt and pepper.  Pour the eggs over the spinach.  When the eggs begin to set, use a spatula to cut through to the bottom in a couple of places in the center of the frittata and lift the cooked edges while you tilt the pan so the raw egg runs onto the hot skillet. 
When the eggs are mostly set, spread the tomatoes and feta evenly over the top.  Lower the heat and cover for a minute or two until the tomatoes are hot, the feta is soft and melty, and the eggs are fully set. 

My opinion: Loooooved it!! I wouldn’t change a thing with this recipe!  I did add dill (instead of oregano).  Regarding the skillet, I would highly recommend using a well seasoned iron skillet, or a fail proof non-stick skillet.  After I added the eggs into the spinach mixture, I let it cook on medium low heat until the outer edges started to cook.  I then added the tomatoes and the cheese, partially covered the skillet with a lid and on a low heat just cooked it through. 

Potatoes with Lemon & Capers: serves 4
IMG_0096
4 or 5 potatoes (about 1-1/2 pounds)
1 lemon
1 Tablespoon drained capers, more to taste
2 Tablespoons olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

Bring 2 quarts of salted water to a boil.  While the water heats, peel or scrub the potatoes and cut them into 1 inch cubes (4 cups).  Add the potatoes to the water, return to a boil, and cook until a knife easily pierces but doesn’t crumble a potato cube, about 5 minutes.
While the potatoes cook, grate the peel of lemon into a large bowl, taking care to grate just the yellow part and not  the white pith, which is bitter.  Squeeze the lemon and add 2 Tablespoons of the juice to the bowl.  Add the capers, chopped if you wish. 
Drain the cooked potatoes, add them to the bowl, drizzle on the oil, and toss.  Add salt and pepper to taste. 

My opinion: I think I am a convert!  I love mashed potatoes, or especially the Japanese style potato salad (with mayonnaise, thinly sliced cucumbers and mixed veggies).  This potato was so tasty with a zing and mellowness all rolled into one.  Capers add a nice bite into this potato too.  I think I’ll make my potatoes this way from now on, much healthier (well, I’ll make the potatoes with mayo once in a while:-)  

Greek Salad: serves 2 to 4
IMG_0097
4 cups sliced romaine lettuce
1 cucumber, peeled and sliced
2 tomatoes, cut into wedges
1/2 red or Vidalia onions, thinly sliced
about 12 kalamata olives
1/2 cup crumbled feta cheese

Dressing:
1/3 cup olive oil (extra virgin)
3 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon dried oregano
pinch of salt and pepper

Fill a serving bowl or platter with the romaine.  Arrange the cucumbers, tomatoes, onion, olives, and feta on top.  Whisk together the dressing ingredients and pour over the salad. 

My opinion: I really like the taste of olive oil and red wine vinegar together.  This salad was just so nice, what a treat to my taste buds! This salad went perfectly with the frittata and the potatoes!

Leave a Reply

