Strawberry Tiramisu

I made this because we went strawberry picking this past weekend and I had plenty of strawberries  I had to use up before they went bad.  I like traditional tiramisu, but sometimes it’s a bit too heavy for me (I guess the whole combination of expresso, liqueur, wine/rum, mascarpone and heavy cream).   This version is also not for the light hearted who are conscious about one’s weight, but I do like the combination of strawberries and Cointreau.  For me, this Strawberry Tiramisu tasted like Strawberry Whipped Cream  with a punch!  Would I make this again?  Of course I will!!   I adapted this recipe from Giada De Laurentiis’s “Giada’s Family Dinners”,  instead of using the traditional Lady Fingers, I just baked regular sponge cake on a baking sheet.  I baked it for a little longer time and when cooled, I cut the cakes into oblong pieces (resembling the Lady Fingers). 

IMG_0168

1-1/4 cups strawberry preserves
1/3 cup plus 4 Tablespoons Cointreau or other orange liqueur, divided
1/3 cup orange juice
1 pound mascarpone cheese, room temperature
1-1/3 cups chilled whipping cream
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1-1/2 pounds fresh strawberries, divided
52 (about) crisp ladyfingers

Whisk preserves, 1/3 cup Cointreau, and orange juice in 2 cup measuring cup.  Place mascarpone cheese and 2 Tablespoons Cointreau in large bowl; fold just to blend.  Using electric mixer, beat cream, sugar, vanilla, and remaining 2 Tablespoons Cointreau in another large bowl to soft peaks.  Stir 1/4 of whipped cream mixture into mascarpone mixture to lighten.  Fold in remaining whipped cream. 

Hull and slice half of strawberries.  Spread 1/2 cup preserve mixture over bottom of 3 quart oblong serving dish or 13x9x2 inch glass baking dish.  Arrange enough ladyfingers over preserve mixture to cover bottom of dish.  Spoon 3/4 cup preserve mixture over ladyfingers, then spread 2-1/2 cups mascarpone mixture over.  Arrange sliced strawberries over mascarpone mixture.  Repeat layering with remaining ladyfingers, preserve mixture, and mascarpone mixture.  Cover with plastic and chill for at least 8 hours or overnight.  Slice remaining strawberries.  Arrange over tiramisu and serve.

Update: 2-16-12

I have made this quite a few times already.  I wanted to share with you what worked and what didn’t work for me (it could be different with you).   First of all, Cointreau is a bit more expensive than your regular orange liqueur, however, using Cointreau gives you smoother taste.  Orange liqueur, in my opinion, is a bit too strong for this tiramisu.  A lesser expensive alternative will be using Triple Sec. 

In terms of whether to use ladyfingers or basic sponge cake (which I did the first few times), that’s completely up to you.  Obviously, sponge cake will give you more of a cakey texture,  more substance, and more of a strawberry cake with whipped cream taste.   Ladyfingers will give you lighter texture.    I like both ways. 

My family really enjoy this tiramisu, and I have made this for my friends and neighbors on many occasions and they all love this!!  Hope can try this some time soon!

4 thoughts on “Strawberry Tiramisu

Leave a Reply

