Vanilla Poached Apricots with Zabaglione

I’ve been having a really bad relationship with foods lately…  Today, I tried making pavlova again and I had such bad bonding with the egg whites I had to do it all over again.  Second time around, I had a little attitude adjustment (a little wine goes a long way) and it was a success.  I realized I can never make it in the restaurant industry where the chefs are under stress to fill the orders; I’m sorry, I need to take my time and bond with my foods, for me that’s they only way I can ensure the foods come out good. 
Anyway, I had quite a few egg yolks left over after making pavlova so decided to make zabaglione.  I know it’s not the best diet foods, but you know what?  you cares!!!  I adapted this recipe May 2007 issue of Gourmet magazine – for this recipe instead using apricots I used plums, and instead of dry wine, I used Dark Cherry Rum.   This is a very very yummy dessert!

IMG_0224

For apricots

  • 1/2 vanilla bean, halved lengthwise
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 (4- by 1-inch) strips fresh lemon zest
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 pounds firm-ripe fresh apricots, halved lengthwise and pitted

For zabaglione

  • 3 large egg yolks
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons dry white wine (preferably Swiss)

Poach apricots:
Scrape seeds from vanilla bean into a 2-quart saucepan, then add pod, water, sugar, zest, and salt. Bring to a boil, uncovered, over high heat, then boil 1 minute.
Carefully add apricots, then reduce heat and poach at a bare simmer, turning over once, until fruit is tender but still holds its shape and skins are still intact, 2 to 6 minutes. Transfer apricots and syrup to a large shallow bowl and cool to room temperature, about 1 1/2 hours.
Make zabaglione:
Beat together yolks, sugar, and wine in a deep 4-quart metal bowl with a handheld electric mixer at medium speed or whisk vigorously until combined well.
Set bowl over a 4-quart pot of barely simmering water and beat mixture until tripled in volume, 5 to 6 minutes.
To serve:
Spoon 2 or 3 apricot halves into each of 6 glasses and top with zabaglione. Serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

