Foule (Ethiopian Fava Bean Stew)

Just as I was enjoying the cooler weather, we got hit by few days of Indian Summer.   I think I got a bit disoriented by this sudden increase in the temperature, but can’t let this twist in the weather discourage me!  Today I made “Foule” (pronounced – “fool”).   Few weeks ago, I went to my neighborhood Ethiopian restaurant with a friend and she ordered this dish for me.  I loved it a lot I wanted to replicate the dish, so I went online searching for the Foule recipe (which was kind of difficult to find).  I finally found the recipe on an online Ethiopian community website http://www.ethioday.com/ .  I pretty much followed the recipe, but slightly adjusted the ingredient measurements. 
Typically foule is eaten with a baguette (instead of injera – traditional Ethiopian flat yeast bread). 
IMG_1197

1 (15ounce) can fava beans or 1-1/2 cups cooked fava beans
2-3 stems green onions, chopped
2 garlic cloves, chopped
2 large tomatoes, chopped
2-3 Tablespoons Berbere
1 Tablespoon ginger powder
12 grams cilantro
sour cream

Saute garlic on high heat, and add the green onions.  Cook until limp.
Mash the beans in a large bowl until 80% are mashed and 20% are either semi mashed or whole. 
Reduce the heat and add the beans and cook for approximately 3 minutes.
Add berbere, stir, and at low heat cook for few minutes.
Add the tomatoes, and cook on medium low heat for approximately 10-12 minutes.  Add salt and pepper to taste.
Add cilantro.
If you prefer, add a dollop of sour cream when ready to eat. 

IMG_1194

Even though you basically use the same spices with the Lentil Stew (previous post), I think this has hearty and deeper tastes and flavour.  The combination of baguette adds new dimension to this dish.  Apparently in Ethiopia, this is considered as a breakfast food.  I don’t know if I can eat this for breakfast, but it must give you a great start in the morning!  My children loved this dish when I served it tonight!
I got my fava beans from a Middle Eastern market.  On the can, it specifically say “Foule fava beans” – fava beans for foule is a little different from the typical fava beans.

Leave a Reply

