Curry Cauliflower, Carrot and Bean Soup

It has been very difficult to be inspired to try new recipes lately.  I think everyone can cook for the sake of cooking – mainly to eliminate the hunger (I guess “eating to live”).  I’m talking more about “living to eat” where different ingredients, potentiality of certain food combinations, and new recipes almost give you that anticipation and thrill.  Am I the only one being this weird? In any case, I still have to feed my family, but I also cannot be “de-inspired” so the life goes on. 
The past two weeks have been shoveling out of snowstorms, praying that ice-storm wouldn’t cause power outages, snow days for the kids, different dramas happening at the home front, and worrying over my friend and her family in Cairo (with the recent mass demonstration in Egypt).  Fortunately, as all things in life, each of these took care of itself, and today, I feel this surge of relief hearing from my friend in Cairo! 
I found this recipe of Curry Cauliflower Soup in my recipe folder, all I did was add some carrots and chickpeas.  I also wanted something different from traditional bread to go with the soup, so made a really simple quesadilla.  I also steamed up some baby artichokes and made a mayonnaise and balsamic vinegar dip. 
IMG_1927
Here’s the recipe for the soup:
1 large onion, peeled and chopped
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/2 head cauliflower, florets broken
1 cup baby carrots
32 oz (4 cups) vegetable stock
1 Tablespoon curry powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 can Garbanzo/Chickpea bean, drained
Crème Fraiche

Add the onions and the oil in a stockpot on medium heat.  Cook for about 10 minutes stirring until onions begin to brown, add salt and curry powder and heat for another few minutes.    Add the cauliflower, baby carrot, beans and the vegetable stock.  Bring to boil and to simmer.  Cook for about 30 minutes with lid closed. 
Remove the stockpot from the heat.  Carefully puree the soup with the immersion blender (handheld blender) until smooth.
Serve in a soup bowl and add dollop of crème fraiche. 
My opinion: We all immensely enjoyed this soup.  It was very smooth and tasty.  If you like thicker soup, adding potatoes or more beans will be good too. 
With the  simple quesadilla, I spread some pesto on one soft tortilla.  While this tortilla is on the frying pan (medium heat), sprinkle shredded mozzarella cheese, layer with some baby spinach and sprinkle shredded cheddar cheese, and put another tortilla on top.  After few minutes flip the tortilla and heat the other side for few minutes. 

Leave a Reply

