Kohlrabi Curry

Okay, I have been very distracted and emotionally distraught lately.  We haven’t seen any mice for the past 5-6 years because we did all that we can do to get rid of them.  It truly was a peaceful time without worrying about those darn critters.  Our next door neighbor his redoing their basement, and there has been a lot of drilling, banging, etc, etc… I think the mice from next door migrated to our basement and I have been tormented by their presence.  Even today, while was preparing for this dish a mouse appeared out of nowhere and scared the living daylights out of me.  A mere tiny useless rodent, scaring me to death – argh, makes me so upset!!!
Anyway, if I don’t force myself to cook new recipes I feel I will just stay in the depth of distraught.  So here goes another one of my feeble attempt to try a new vegetarian dish. 
IMG_1941
3 – kohlrabi, diced along with the greens
2 – medium onions, sliced
1 – clove garlic, minced
2-3 – medium tomatoes, diced
1 – Tablespoon tamarind paste
1 – teaspoon jaggery (or brown sugar)
1 – teaspoon red chili powder
1 – teaspoon mustard seeds
1 – teaspoon cumin seeds
1/2 – teaspoon turmeric
1/2 – cup water
salt to taste

Microwave chopped kohlrabi for 5 minutes or until tender. 
Heat about 1 Tablespoon oil in a pan, add the seeds, after they pop sauté onions until translucent.  Add tomatoes, chopped kohlrabi, chopped kohlrabi greens, tamarind paste, jaggery, chili powder, turmeric, salt and water.  Stir gently and cover the pan and cook until tender (about 10-15 minutes) on low heat. 

My opinion: This is a very light curry (no thick gravy).  You can really taste the layers of taste (cumin and mustard seed, slight sourness of tamarind and hint of sweetness from jaggery).  This will be a great Summertime curry because it doesn’t weigh down inside of you.  Eat this with basmati or even the short grain rice so that the light curry sauce will soak into the rice!

Leave a Reply

