Pão de Queijo (Brazilian Cheese Bread)

When I get stressed, I don’t want to see or talk with people (classic introvert, I think).  I either want to just mindlessly surf the computer, read a book, be left alone, or cook.  Today, in the midst of a stress brought on by my pre-teen daughter, I wanted to cook something simple and savory.  I was looking through my Saveur magazine and found this recipe. 
IMG_1966
This savory bread was paired with the Butternut Squash Soup (I made this soup in October of 2010 for my blog). 
This will yield 16 rolls:
1 cup sour tapioca starch (regular tapioca starch is fine)
1 cup finely grated Parmesan
1/2 cup plus 2 Tablespoons flour
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon active dry yeast
3/4 cup milk
4 Tablespoons unsalted butter, cubed
2 eggs

Heat oven to 350F.  In a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients.  Heat milk and butter in a small saucepan over medium high heat until butter melts.  Pour mixture into dry ingredients along with 1 egg and stir until dough forms.  Cover and let sit for 30 minutes
Using a tablespoon, portion out dough and roll each into a ball.  Place on parchment paper-lined baking sheets, spread 2 inches apart; beat remaining egg in a small bowl and brush balls with egg. 
IMG_1960
IMG_1961
Bake until browned, 25-30 minutes. 

My opinion: I didn’t roll my dough but it came out fine.  However, if you want a round bread roll, you should slightly wet your hand and roll the dough.  This wasn’t starchy at all, in fact, it was fluffy, savory and deceptively addictive!!

Leave a Reply

