Latvian Meal Part 2–Selyodka Pod Shuboy (Layered Herring Salad)

Today has been a very surreal day.  Last night there was a news flash saying that the US special troops have killed Osama Bin Laden, then came President Obama’s speech regarding this mission.  Especially in the US, people are celebrating as if our country won the World Cup or the Super Bowl.  As much as I feel vindicated, even a person’s death,  who is the epitome of evil, shouldn’t be celebrated over (my own personal feelings). 
I almost forgot about the Part 2 of my Latvian meal in my dazed state of mind.  This recipe will serve about 6 :
IMG_2486
** you’re supposed to use salt-cured herring, however, since it’s very difficult to find fresh nor salt-cured herrings around Philadelphia, I substituted with smoked herrings in a can.  Herrings are layered with apples, potatoes, carrots, beets, and sour-mayonnaise dressing, sprinkled with dills and crumbled boiled eggs.

1 cup mayonnaise
1 cup sour cream
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper, to taste
3 fillets salted herring, rinsed and roughly chopped (I used 2 cans of smoked herring – break the fish down with a fork)
1 small yellow onion, minced
3-4 medium peeled and boiled Yukon Gold potatoes, grated
3-4 medium boiled carrots, grated
6 hard boiled eggs, whites and yolks separated, each passed through a fine strainer
1 Fuji apple, cored, peeled, and grated
2-3 medium boiled beets, peeled and grated (I used sliced beets in a can)
1/4 cup chopped fresh dill (dried dills will be good too)

Whisk together mayonnaise and sour cream in a small bowl and season with salt and pepper; set aside. 
Place herring in the bottom of a shallow 3 quart oval dish, and top with 1/3 dressing.  Sprinkle onions on top, then cover with grated potatoes.  Top potatoes with carrots and 1/2 the remaining dressing. 
Combine half the sieved egg yolks and half the sieved egg whites in a small bowl, then spread over dressing.  Top with apples, then beets.  Spread remaining dressing over beets to cover.  Create three even rows across top of salad with remaining egg yolks and three rows of whites; fill in gaps with rows of dill. 
IMG_2490

My opinion: You can cut this recipe by half and use 1-1/2 quart oval dish instead. 
This dish reminded me a lot of Scandinavian style dish.  I love herrings and beets, so this dish was perfect for me!!  I fed this to my cousin, her husband and Steve, and they all loved it!!  The varying textures and tastes of each layer were perfect all together, and my cousin said it tasted even better the next day! 

This will be a perfect Summer time dish for picnics, potluck gatherings and cookouts.  It’s such a simple dish, however, seems a bit time consuming because you have to “grate” the ingredients.  Instead of grating, I just julienned them a little thicker.  I even made this dish tonight, but I sliced all the ingredients, but I have to be honest, by grating or julienning the ingredients, they “adjust” to each other much better and therefore, it’s more enjoyable to eat.  Therefore, if you don’t want to bother with grating or julienning, just slice, but remember, you’re missing out in subtle treats and joy of this dish.

Leave a Reply

