Brown Sugar Banana Cupcakes

You know, thing about kids, they are not organized.  They also think you’re a magician or something, that you’re able to conjure up things.  I keep on telling my kids to tell me ahead of time when they need to bring something into school (whether that may be snack food for parties, school supplies for projects, etc).  Anyway, to prove my point about them not being organized, my oldest daughter tells me, “oh, by the way mom, I need to bring some pastries into my literature class tomorrow, can you bake something?”  I’m rolling my eyes as I’m typing this.  I roll my eyes so much I’m afraid my eyes will be stuck. 
Unless I’m truly desperate I don’t like to just buy stuff.  I had some very ripe bananas so I decided to bake some cupcakes, heck, why not?!
IMG_2580
This recipe will give you about 12 – 16 cupcakes, or 48 plus mini cupcakes. 
1-1/3 cups flour
1-1/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
1 egg
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1/4 cup sour cream
1/2 cup butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line cupcake tins.
Combine flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg.  Sift them well.
Whisk egg and add sugar, mix until smooth.  Stir in vanilla, sour cream and butter.  Mix well.  Add the dry ingredients and mashed bananas. 
Fill the cupcake tins 3/4 full and bake for about 15-18 minutes. 
Note:  I made mini cupcakes.  I also filled the cupcake tins 1/4 full, added guava paste (mango butter jam will go well too), added additional 1/4 batter on top of the guava paste.  Just to decorate I added plantain chips on top. 

My opinion: There are so many variations in banana cupcake (cake/bread) recipes.  This recipe was moist and fluffy (I know, odd combination, but so good), brown sugar added a depth to the flavour, and just enough banana flavour.  Needless to say, it was a huge hit at my daughter’s literature party.

Leave a Reply

