Tvarohové Buchty (Sweet yeast buns)

Did I ever tell you that we don’t have Cable or Satellite Dish?  Many years ago my husband and I decided against getting these services because 1. why spend extra money  2. Knowing us we’ll be glued to the TV  3.  we will be soooo unproductive nothing will be done around the house.

There are only few channels on Cable that I really want (I’m sure my husband has his own, mostly Sports and my kids can tell you few channels they want); Food Network, Travel Channel and National Geographic.  Whenever we stay at a hotel that’s my opportunity to watch the Food Network!  Well, thanks to Netflix (and no thanks to the price hike, we’ll seriously have to think of switching to Hulu Plus or something else)  I have been watching one of my favorite show “Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations”.  I have been watching from Season 1 (I think they’re up to Season 7), and taking notes of potential places to visit worldwide all based on food! 

Watching this show has been also quite dangerous for me.  Every so often, I end up pausing the episode and search for particular dishes which appear on the show.  If I didn’t catch the name of the dish it takes me extra time to search.  This Tvarohove Buchty is one of the recipe I tracked down after watching the “Prague” episode. 

Tvarohove Buchty is  cottage cheese or jam filled sweet yeast buns.  It originates from Czech/Slovakia and usually eaten after dinner. Also, instead of baking cookies these buchty are baked.   It looked so good on the show I had to try this out.  I looked at different recipes, but I mostly got the recipe from Slovak Cooking site.  I tweaked it a little based on other similar recipes and from my own experience baking other types of bread.

IMG_4918


This recipe will yield 2-9×13 pans of buns

4-1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 egg
3 egg yolks
a little less than 1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 stick butter
1 cup milk
pinch of salt
3 teaspoons yeast
1 teaspoon sugar
1/4 cup milk
Oil for brushing the buns (I used safflower oil)

1.  Combine 3 teaspoon yeast and 1 teaspoon sugar.  Pour warm 1/4 cup of milk into the yeast mixture and let it sit for about 5-10 minutes until is sponges. 

2.  Combine flour, powdered sugar, 1 egg and 3 egg yolks.  Add the melted butter, salt and some milk (heat the milk so that it’s warm).  Mix a bit and add the yeast mixture. 

3.  In a heavy duty stand mixer mix all the ingredients adding milk a little at a time until the dough is binded together.  Knead the dough for about 10 minutes until it’s smooth.  Keep adding more milk as needed.  The final dough will be slightly sticky (just slightly).  You should be able to roll it into a ball without having it stick to the bowl.  Cover, and let it sit in a warm place for about 2 hours until the dough doubles in size. 

4.  Prepare the filling:  I used farmer’s cheese and fig jam.  Traditionally you use cottage cheese, poppy seed and plum jam.  Take about 3/4 cup farmer’s cheese and mix with about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar, blend in the sugar well. 

5.  When the dough has risen, roll out the dough and cut the dough into squares (slightly smaller than your palm). 

IMG_4908

6.  Place filling
IMG_4909

7.  Fold over the side containing the filling
IMG_4910

8.  Fold over again to complete the bun.  Also tuck in the 2 end sides so that fillings don’t spill out when baking.
IMG_4911

9.  Place them on a greased baking pan, and brush oil on top and sides (so that they don’t stick), let them rest for about 20 minutes. 
IMG_4913

10.  Pre-heat the oven to 350F and bake for about 20 minutes.  Just make sure that the top becomes golden brown.  Sprinkle with powdered sugar once they cool off. 
IMG_4915IMG_4918
IMG_4917

My opinion:
Yum yum yum!! The above recipe will yield 2 (9×13″) pans of yumminess.  For one pan I put the cheese filling, and the other pan I added the fig jam filling.   Perfect little buns!  The buns get very soft once cooled off and these are perfect buns for coffee/tea time.  I’m thinking I’ll have some of these for breakfast tomorrow!  I’m thinking of putting raisins with a little bit of cinnamon next time, and also cream cheese filling.  Funny thing I learned, in Slovak, “buchty” is a slang word for a larger than average girl.  Oh my gosh!  if I keep on eating this I WILL be buchty!! Maybe it’s too late…

2 thoughts on “Tvarohové Buchty (Sweet yeast buns)

  1. thank you as usual Aiko! my girls have been enjoying this for their after school snacks:-) unlike other "bread" this tastes much better when it's cooled – the dough becomes softer too after the buns cool down. You can also add grated lemon peels in the dough (I'm sure that'll bring an interesting twist to the taste).

Leave a Reply

