Zucchini Bread

This is one of those recipes that have so many variations.  The recipe I have is tried and tested for over a decade; I don’t even remember where I got the recipe, I think it was handed to me by one friend, but at this old age, I don’t remember.  This is a very simple recipe, yet so delicious.  It yields a very spongy and fluffy zucchini bread that is delicate tasting. 

IMG_4958

This recipe will yield (2) 9×5 or 8×4 inch loaf pans

3 eggs
2 cups sugar
3 cups (about 3 medium ) shredded zucchini
1 cup oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3 cups all purpose flour
1/2 cup chopped nuts (since my eldest daughter has nut allergies, I omitted this)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
3 teaspoons cinnamon
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cloves

Heat oven to 325F.  Grease bottoms only of the loaf pans.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs until foamy.  Stir in sugar, zucchini, oil, and vanilla. 

Add the remaining ingredients.  Blend well.

Pour batter into prepared pans.  Bake for 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool 10 minutes, remove from pans, and cool completely.

IMG_4960

My opinion:  This is so simple there is no reason why you shouldn’t try it!!  Having a food processor helps because it shreds the zucchini so nicely.  I baked 4 loaves today.  2 to giveaway, 1 to give as a “get well” gift to Anna’s viola teacher (who recently had a hip replacement surgery), and 1 for my children. 

Leave a Reply

