Apple Cider-Cinnamon Ice Cream

I feel like every year I say, “gee, we only had such a short Fall, and it already feels like Winter!”  This year in particular I feel to my bones that Winter has come (and not to mention our freak October snow storm we had pretty much sealed the deal). 

I will still cling onto the notion that we are still in the midst of Fall, and celebrate with this very Fall-like ice-cream.  I got this recipe from my November issue of Saveur magazine. 

By the way, it almost slipped my mind; today’s post is my 100th post on this blog!!

IMG_5132

Makes 1 Quart:

2 cups apple cider
3/4 cup evaporated cane juice or sugar
1 stick cinnamon
2 cups milk
2 cups heavy cream
1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
6 egg yolks

Whisk apple cider, cane juice or sugar, and cinnamon stick in a 4 quart saucepan over medium-high heat; bring to a boil, and cook, stirring occasionally, until reduced to 2/3 cup, about 25 minutes; remove from heat and discard cinnamon stick.

Stir in milk and cream until smooth, and then add ground cinnamon and egg yolks; whisk until smooth.  Return saucepan to medium heat and cook, stirring often, until mixture thickens and coats the back of a spoon, about 20 minutes.  (Don’t worry if the mixture doesn’t completely thicken like a custard, mine didn’t, but it thickened in the fridge while it was cooling down). 

Pour custard through a fine strainer into a medium bowl, and let cool; refrigerate until chilled.  (I cooled it on top of the kitchen counter for about an hour and then put in the fridge). 

Process chilled custard in an ice-cream maker according to a manufacturer’s instructions.  Transfer to a storage container and freeze until firm, at least 4 hours. 

IMG_5135

My opinion:   I sliced Honey Crisp apples and baked in a relative low heat (275F) for about 30-40 minutes.  My family had a fun time eating this ice-cream with a cinnamon stick. 

How shall I describe the taste?  It has a hint of apple, but the first taste is custard, then you start to unfold the underlying tastes of apples and cinnamon.  It has a slight tartness that reminds you of eating frozen yogurt.  Interesting, right? but a very good ice-cream!

4 thoughts on “Apple Cider-Cinnamon Ice Cream

  1. YangHwa, i just made this and it tastes delish! mine reminded me of apple pie, more than a hint. perhaps my cider was stronger in flavour than yours. anyways, wanted to share this with you. have a happy thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

