Jamaican-Spiced Pumpkin Pie

This is Part One of Thanksgiving dessert series.  I’m baking these for the first time, so whether it’s a success or not I’ll be posting them here and giving you my opinions.

Based on our moods in our household we’d rather skip right into Christmas.  I still haven’t decided what we’ll be doing for Thanksgiving.  I think I’m very tempted to order a sushi platter and be done with it.  Truth be told, I’m not a big turkey person.  Year after year of eating turkey (even though it’s just once per year) is more than I can handle.  Over the years to avoid eating turkey we’ve had lamb, sushi, Indian spiced turkey, Korean style Thanksgiving, braised beef, etc, etc.   Anyway, even though I’m uncertain of the main Thanksgiving meal, I’m more excited about the dessert!!

Today’s recipe was adapted from the Fine Cooking magazine (yes, one of my favorite culinary magazine!).  This will yield one 9 inch deep pie dish.  I made a pie and filling/custard in ramekins.  You can easily serve the custard alone as part of your Thanksgiving dessert!



IMG_5223

One 15-oz. can pure pumpkin purée
1-1/4 cups unsweetened coconut milk (full fat only, stirred or shaken well before using)
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tsp. ground ginger
3/4 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. table salt
1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg
4 large eggs, at room temperature
2 Tbs. spiced rum, such as Captain Morgan
**your favorite pie crust.  You can use the ready-made pie crust or use this pie crust recipe.  For homemade pie crust tips, you can check  my other pie post.

Position a rack in the center of the oven, set a heavy-duty rimmed baking sheet on the rack, and heat the oven to 425°F.
In a large bowl, whisk the pumpkin, coconut milk, sugar, ginger, cinnamon, salt, and nutmeg until smooth. Whisk in the eggs and then the rum, until the mixture is smooth. Pour the filling into the piecrust.
Put the pie on the heated baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes and then reduce the oven temperature to 350°F. Bake until the center of the pie no longer wobbles when the pan is nudged (a slight jiggle is fine), an additional 45 to 55 minutes.
Transfer to a rack and cool completely before serving. The pie can be stored at room temperature for up to 2 days.

**I also filled the pumpkin fillings in ramekins, baked them in bain marie (place the custard filled ramekins on deep baking sheet with water to cover about 1/2 inch, bake in 350F for 30-40minutes). 

IMG_5219
IMG_5220

My opinion: I think I will add more rum the next time.  You can still taste a slight hint, really, if you’re not familiar with rum you won’t even notice the taste.  I don’t want the pie to taste too much like rum, but 2 Tablespoons of rum was not enough to differentiate with other pie fillings.  

Coconut milk plus the eggs gave this pie filling a very nice custard texture.  It was the gentler version to the traditional pie filling.  I think I personally liked the pie filling in a custard better than the pie.  In a pie, I felt the filling had to compete with the crust (and some people like that contrast).  However, I liked the solo performance of the filling; this was a melt in your mouth goodness!!

Okay, my cousin tasted this today and this is her exact quote: the most delicate flavors combined here- the crust is like an unglazed palmier (elephant ears) delicate and flaky while the custard is more of a creamy pumpkin flavored creme brûlée. Truly amazing!”  I used the crust recipe from the above link (where the ingredient list is). 

Leave a Reply

