Barbecue Beef Cups

I don’t know how working moms manage everything;  I know they’ll say “that’s the problem, I don’t manage everything and I can’t do it!!”  No matter what you say  I have the greatest respect for working moms out there, especially with little children. 

I think most of the recipes on my blog are pretty straightforward and easy (that is if you prepare and organize).  Here’s a recipe I had for years in my menu folder;  I don’t even remember where I got it from.  For working moms out there, or moms who have young children,  this recipe is truly easy and kids looooove this recipe!!

IMG_5269

Yields usually about 10 (depending how many biscuits come in a container):
3/4 pound ground beef
1/2 cup barbecue sauce
1 Tablespoon brown sugar
3-4 green onions, finely chopped
(1) 16.3 ounce can refrigerated biscuits
3/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese

In a skillet, brown the beef over medium heat; drain off excess fat once cooked. 

Remove from heat and stir in barbecue sauce, brown sugar and green onions. 

Grease a 12 cup muffin pan and place a piece of biscuit dough in each cup (stretching the dough up the sides). 

Divide the beef mixture among the biscuit cups, sprinkle each with cheese. 
IMG_5266

Bake in a pre-heated 400F oven until golden, about 10-12 minutes.
IMG_5267

IMG_5270

My opinion:  Simple, simple, simple and yummy!!  It’s been a while since I made this (probably close to 2 years).  My children always loved this when they were little, and they still love this.  Last night when I made these beef cups my tween and teen daughters were really excited, they even took some for their school lunches today!

Another great thing about this recipe is its versatility.  Instead of using ground beef, you can use ground turkey, lamb or chicken (pork maybe a bit overbearing).  You can use Indian spices, Middle Easten spices, or whatever other spices or sauces you want.  

What makes it simple is the use of refrigerated biscuits.  Just make sure to check the ingredients and buy the ones with less trans fat, partially hydrogenated oil and other unhealthy ingredients.   If you want to take an extra time, you can get a refrigerated pizza dough (or you can go to a pizza parlor and buy a dough, or make your own) and use that as the biscuit.  Also, you can easily make this into an appetizer menu!!

4 thoughts on “Barbecue Beef Cups

  1. why didn t i see this one before! i wish we were back in touch when Ken was little, it would have been so great… but that doesn t mean i won t be making this just to take to work myself! thank you so much for another scrumptious recipe!

Leave a Reply

