Kimchi Pa-Jon (Kimchi & Scallion Pancakes)

I rarely post Korean recipes on my blog.  Even though I’m a Korean it’s a bit boring for me to post my own cultural foods.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Korean food, I have so many favorites, however, I usually post something that I have never cooked/baked before (because that gives me challenges). Also, with most of my Korean recipes I don’t go by exact recipes.  I learned to measure with my eyes and hands so to write the exact measurement down was quite daunting.  I looked at different Korean cookbooks and adapted to my own tastes, so hopefully I will be able to post more Korean recipes from now on. 

Today, I was craving for Korean food and I wanted to cook something I rarely cook.  If you are not familiar with Korean food, Pa-Jon is a relatively thin savory pancakes.  You can find them in Korean restaurants, tons served at street vendors in Korea, and many homecooks make these delicious pancakes.  You will find that Pa-Jon recipes differ from region to region (and also in different kitchens). 

IMG_5445

Makes about 6 pancakes:

1 cup sweet rice flour
2 cups all purpose flour
2 eggs, beaten
1/2 teaspoon salt
5-6 scallions, green part only, cut into 3 inches long
1/4 – 1/2 pound finely chopped beef, pork or bacon (ground beef, pork or chicken is good too).  ** I used bacon here
2 cups finely chopped kimchi (squeeze out excess liquid with kitchen gloves on.  Some people use over-ripe kimchi, but I prefer “just ripe”, meaning that kimchi hasn’t turned sour).
2-1/2 cups water

Cook the meat in a small pan until cooked through.  Since I used bacon, I chopped the bacon into small pieces and cooked until half crisp. 

Mix all the ingredients together until well blended.  The batter should be a little more fluid than your regular pancake batter.  Cook one pancake and test it out.  You can always add more water to the later pancakes. 
IMG_5443

Heat the oil in a skillet (about 8 inch) on a medium heat and add about 1 cup of the mixture.  Spread it thin as you can get and brown the pancake for about 2 minutes.  Flip over the pancake and lightly brown for 2-3 minutes. 

IMG_5444

Serve warm, cut into 8 pieces for easy handling.

IMG_5448

My opinion: This is many of my comfort food.  It reminds me of home and my heritage.  This is such a nice contrast of savory and semi-spicy, then you have the nice bacon flavor.  Since you’re not over cooking these pancakes, you can bite and taste the freshness of kimchi and scallions.  The inside of the pancake should be soft, but not doughy.  The edge should be crispy. 

You can do all sorts of combination for these pancakes.  You can omit kimchi, and add more meat, more scallions, zucchinis, or seafood (oyster is very nice in this pancake)!!

Leave a Reply

