Cuban Style Dinner–Part 1 “Cuban Pork Roast”

I’ve been trying to procrastinate writing this post since Friday night.  Friday night I made sumptuous Cuban style dinner (yes, I realize I should be humble about this, but it truly was delicious) for my family and my cousin’s family.  The dinner consisted of Cuban Pork Roast, Pork & Chorizo Stew, Black Bean Stew, Spanish rice, Avocado & Red Onion Salad, and Fried Plantains.   I adapted these recipes from Memories of a Cuban Kitchen, by Mary Urruthia Randelman & Joan Schwartz.   For many of these recipes I adapted a lot based on my ex-sister-in-law’s cooking style (she was from Ecuador who lives in Miami).   I will try my darn best to write down the steps to making these wonderful dishes!!

IMG_0390

Let’s start with the Cuban Pork Roast (Puerco Asado):  Start prepping this the day before the actual dinner/meal.  This will yield about 8 servings. 

One 5-pound boneless pork loin (I used two (2) 2-1/2 pound boneless pork loin)
8-10 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon dried oregano
Salt and black pepper, to taste
1/4 cup fresh lime juice
1/4 cup orange juice
1/4 cup dry red wine
1/4 cup Mojo Criollo (can be bought at many Latin American stores and some major American supermarkets)

IMG_0335

Day before, score the roast all over its surface with the tip of a knife.  In a mortar or food processor, combine the garlic and oregano and make into paste.  Fill the slit you made in the pork with the garlic and oregano paste.

IMG_0334

Place the pork in a nonreactive dish, rub it with the remaining garlic paste, salt, and pepper

IMG_0336

Pour the lime and orange juice, red wine and Mojo Criollo.  Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight.  Turn over the meat the next day so the other side can marinate. 

IMG_0337

Preheat the oven to 350F, remove the roast from its marinade (preserve this marinade for making the Black Bean stew).  Place the meat in a roasting pan and roast uncovered for 2-1/2 hours (internal temperature should reach 165F).  When the meat is done, transfer it to a serving platter, cover it with an aluminum foil and allow to sit 10-15 minutes before slicing. 

IMG_0382

My opinion:  very moist and flavorful roast!  We really loved this dinner (kind of funny saying this of my own cooking).  With this left over pork roast you can also make various sandwiches, especially the Cubano sandwiches, which I will post a little later. 

Leave a Reply

