Japanese Style Lamingtons

Okay, I’m ready to be crucified by the Aussies.  I probably will not like it if someone else changed around my cultural food (unless it’s really cleverly done).  I don’t think what I did was purely original, I’m pretty sure someone out there in this blogsphere have done something like this.  I was looking through Delicious Delicious Delicious’ blog and was really inspired by different “re-invented” lamingtons.  Since I made the traditional lamingtons few days ago, I wanted to showcase the “re-invented” lamingtons using some of the traditional Japanese ingredients (usually used for making traditional Japanese snacks/desserts).

IMG_0640

For my Japanese Style Lamingtons I used sweetened red bean paste, chopped cooked chestnuts, matcha (green tea powder), and kinako (roasted soy bean powder). 

IMG_0606
You can buy the sweetened red bean paste at most Asian markets.  I always get the Japanese brand, because I do taste the subtle taste difference between the Japanese brand and other brands made in Korea & China.  Most often, you can get the paste in a can.   You can also find cooked chestnuts in Asian markets.  These are really convenient to use. 

IMG_0608
You will find out that there are many price ranges for matcha –  green tea powder.  These are fine powder used for tea ceremonies.  I don’t buy the expensive type because I usually use the tea powder for baking. 

IMG_0613
If you are familiar with Japanese rice cakes (mochi), you can find them covered in this kinako (roasted soy bean powder).  It has mild taste and I always associate kinako to my childhood. 

Let’s make the cake base first.  From the lamington I made few days ago, I slightly adjusted the measurements so the cake is a bit lighter :  This will yield 1 8×8 inch square cake pan.

3 large eggs
1 stick (113 gm) butter, room temperature
3/4 cup  granulated sugar
1-1/4  cups all purpose flour
1/4 cup potato or corn starch
1 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 cup milk

Preheat oven to 350F; grease and fit parchment paper in the square cake pan.

Sift the dry ingredients.

Beat the eggs until light and fluffy, gradually add the sugar and continue to beat until sugar dissolves. Carefully mix in the dry ingredients and add the butter and milk, combine well. 

Bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. 

Let it cool in the pan for about 5 minutes and invert it on the wire rack and cool it completely. 

Slice into 1×1 inch cubes, horizontally slice into halves.

Red Bean & Chestnut Filling: adjust the measurement to your liking

1/4 cup red bean paste
5 chestnuts, chopped

Fold the chestnuts into the red bean paste. 

IMG_0607

 
White Chocolate & Matcha icing:

3 bars (125 gm each) good quality white chocolate
1/2 cup heavy cream
2 teaspoon matcha

**Measure about 1 cup kinako powder in a shallow bowl and set aside.

Melt the chocolate and heavy cream in a heatproof bowl over a pan of simmering water. Once melted, add matcha  and stir until well combined and smooth;  set aside to cool down.

IMG_0610
IMG_0611

Take the sliced 1×1 cubed cake and fill with red bean paste and chestnut filling.

IMG_0612

Using a wooden skewer, dip each cube into the chocolate icing and coat with kinako powder.  Place them on the wire rack and let them cool and dry completely (about 2 hours). 

IMG_0614
dip
IMG_0615
cover with chocolate
IMG_0616
coat with kinako
IMG_0617
cool & dry

My opinion:

This was a fun project.  It was a bit too sweet for my liking, I may have to find something other than the white chocolate to coat the cake.  Matcha and kinako flavors were subtle, I think I prefer to have a bit more flavor, but the white chocolate flavor overtook the cake. 

I originally was going to mix the matcha into the cake itself, but decided against it.  This is definitely a work in progress, and I will have to come up with less sweeter version.  All in all, I think it was good, but I’ll post the revised version some time later!!

IMG_0635

IMG_0636

Leave a Reply

