Spiced Orange Syrup/Sauce

I am a very greedy person.  My eyes are bigger than my tummy and I end up either buying more ingredients and/or making more than I should.  I bought a whole bag of oranges thinking I’ll make orange cake and pack oranges for my children’s lunches.  Did these things happen? No, because I bought pears and other fruits to pack for my children’s lunches and I never got around baking orange cake because other intriguing recipes came by my way!!!  Thus, this poor bag of oranges just sat on my counter for few weeks, then I felt guilty and sorry so I transferred the oranges into the refrigerator, but the guilt just kept gnawing at my conscious. 

I wanted a recipe where I can use all my oranges up (I think all 12 oranges) so after searching I found Orange Confit recipe.  Did you realize that my post title doesn’t say “Orange Confit”??  That’s because for some reason mine never turned “jam-like” in consistency, even after few hours of cooking.  That’s okay though, because it tasted terrific and I realized it’ll be perfect for pancakes, waffles and ice-cream!!  Coming to think of it, it’ll also be perfect for roast duck!!

Great combination of spices and brandy adds a little kick to it, but you only taste subtle flavor of brandy.  I’m thinking you can even add dark rum.  The whole smelled of citrus and spices, it was very therapeutic! Even though this didn’t turn out to be a true confit, I am overall very happy with the taste.  Next time when I over buy oranges I’ll try again (oh boy…). 

IMG_0652

I need to tell you I had to quadruple the recipe due to the number of oranges I had to use (even then I didn’t use all my oranges).  You will have to start a day before to prep!!

  • 2 oranges, halved, thinly sliced
  • 4 cardamom pods, lightly crushed
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 500g (about 2-1/2 cups) caster sugar
  • 2 tbs brandy

Place the oranges in a bowl and cover with cold water. Cover and leave overnight.
IMG_0643

Drain well and place in a saucepan with the spices, bay leaf and 3 cups (750ml) water.
IMG_0645
Bring to the boil, then simmer over very low heat for 25-30 minutes until oranges are transparent. Add the sugar and cook for a further 20-25 minutes or until mixture is a thin, jam-like consistency.
IMG_0647
Discard the spices and bay leaf, stir in brandy, and cool.

Since I made a lot, I wanted to make sure I kept them preserved for a little while.  I sterilized canning jars so that I can keep them around for a while or give to people. 

IMG_0644

This morning I made Cakey Buttermilk Pancakes and served with my Spiced Orange Sauce.  My whole family loved them together!!  It reminded me of a brunch that you’ll get in one of those tropical island vacation!

IMG_0649

We love pancakes and I like to try different pancake recipes.  In the past I have tried making yeast pancakes, Swedish pancakes, pancakes with meringue, etc, etc.  This Cakey Buttermilk Pancakes were really good too!

IMG_0651
Oops, forgot to take a picture of how cakey this pancake is!  Fluffy and cakey!

Leave a Reply

