Earl Grey Tea Cake

While back ago I bought one of Donna Hay magazine when Border’s Bookstore was going out of business.  Donna Hay is an Australian culinary magazine and it usually costs about $10 (USD), but since every magazines were 60% off I eagerly bought Donna Hay’s Issue #56!  Today, I wasn’t feeling too well, but to occupy myself so that I will not focus on my “un-wellness” I flipped through the magazine and found the recipe I wanted to try.  Page 103 – “Early Grey Tea Cake”,  the name just sounded really comforting and soothing. 

IMG_0676

Yields 1 loaf pan (6-8 servings):

1 cup (140g) chopped fresh dates
1 teaspoon  bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)
3/4 cup brewed earl grey tea
2 apples, peeled and grated
1 1/4 cups self raising flour, sifted
3/4 cup brown sugar
150g butter, melted
1 teaspoon  vanilla extract
4 eggs

Preheat oven to 325°F. Place the dates, bicarbonate of soda and tea in a bowl and set aside for 10 minutes. Blend the date mixture until smooth and set aside.
IMG_0661

Place the apple, flour and sugar in a bowl and mix to combine.
IMG_0663
(I love using apples in baking!!)

Add the butter, vanilla, eggs and date mixture and mix well to combine.
IMG_0664
(The mixture will be very wet)

Spoon into a lightly greased 2.5 litre capacity loaf tin and bake for 45-55 minutes or until cooked when tested with a skewer.
IMG_0666
IMG_0669
Allow to cool in tin for 10 minutes before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

IMG_0674

My opinion:  Oh my goodness!  What a lovely cake this is!!  Seriously, lovely is the word to describe this cake.  It’s moist, yet fluffy at the same time.  Apples add the moistness and dates add good texture.  You taste a subtle earl grey flavor, however, it almost tastes floral too.  It is not rich at all, this almost reminds me of the “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” where Edmund gets enchanted by the Turkish Delight.  This cake is enough to enchant you!!

Leave a Reply

