Crock Pot Honey Sesame Chicken

I don’t know why the weekends go by so fast… I love my family, but when they are all home they totally upset my routine and don’t feel my brain functions the same way.  Even while I’m trying to write an intelligible blog now, my 2 children (teenager and soon to be a teenager) are looking through some stupid websites and laughing away and reading out loud from the website!!! Seriously, my brain (after many years of thinking for multiple people) cannot handle anymore strain…

Anyway, to get away from this weekend insanity, I have to admit I have been spending some time on Pinterest…  yes, I think that alone is enough to describe the possibility of addiction.  Anyway, while browsing through some food photos I came across this Crock Pot Honey Sesame Chicken recipe.  Looked yummy and it sounded easy, so I made this for tonight’s dinner. 

IMG_0688

Serves 4:  Serve with steamed or stir fried bok choy or other greens; I made few adjustments to the quantities here.

5 boneless, skinless chicken thighs (about 1 1/2 pounds)
• salt and pepper
• 1 cup honey
• 1/2 cup soy sauce (I used half regular and half “light” or “low sodium”)
• 1 medium onion,  diced   
• 1/4 cup ketchup
• 2 tablespoons vegetable oil or olive oil
• 3 cloves garlic, minced
• 1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
• 4 teaspoons cornstarch dissolved in 1/4 cup plus 1 Tablespoon water
• 1/2 tablespoon (or more) sesame seeds
• 2-3 scallions, chopped

Lightly season both sides of chicken with salt and pepper, put into crock pot.

IMG_0683
In a medium bowl, combine honey, soy sauce, onion, ketchup, oil, garlic and pepper flakes. Pour over chicken. Cook on low for 4 hours.
Remove chicken from crock pot, leave sauce. Dissolve 4 teaspoons of cornstarch in 6 tablespoons of water and pour into crock pot. Stir to combine with sauce. Replace lid and cook sauce on high for ten more minutes or until slightly thickened.

IMG_0684
Shred chicken into bite size pieces. Then in individual bowls, place chicken pieces over cooked rice and spoon some sauce on top. Sprinkle with sesame seeds and chopped scallions.

IMG_0686

My opinion:  Gosh, this was really easy and absolutely delicious!!  Granted, don’t expect to taste like Honey Sesame Chicken at Chinese restaurants, but it has enough flavor and it’s wonderful when  the sauce gets absorbed into the rice.  In terms of rice, I do prefer the short grain rice, but jasmine will be good too (however, don’t use basmati or long grain rice such as Uncle Ben’s). 

Since I pack lunch for my husband during the week and we always need extra food I tripled the amount of chickens, but only doubled the sauce quantity (it still yielded more than enough sauce).  I didn’t take out the chicken, but mixed the cornstarch mixture and just broke the chicken apart in the pot. 

Confession:  I forgot to add the sesame!!  I have 1-1/2 pound package of sesame in my pantry (being an Asian myself, I use enough sesame), but in the midst of preparing for dinner I forgot (see, my brain isn’t the same with my family around).

Leave a Reply

