Grapefruit Curd

We love curds in our family.  Great on toasts, scones, English muffins, cakes, pies, and the list can go on and on.  Here in the good United States a mere 6 ounce of lemon curd will cost a lot.  Lucky for me I acquired a lemon curd recipe from my Danish friend few years ago and I have been making this faithfully every year.  I make enough to give out to people (mostly during Christmas);  this time for some reason we got quite a lot of grapefruits.  I think once they were on sale and we got few, then another time we saw some good looking grapefruits so we got more.  Before you know it my refrigerator space was overtaken by these grapefruits!!   Therefore, instead of using lemon, I decided to try making grapefruit curds.  In the past I made lime curds, they were just okay, wasn’t too crazy about it.   So, let’s see what comes out of grapefruits!!

IMG_0736

From the lemon curd recipe I had to make some adjustments for grapefruit curd.  This is a really simple recipe and you’ll love the curd!!  This will yield enough to fill about (2) 8 ounce jars plus a little extra.

1 grapefruit (zest & juice)
4 eggs
1 cup sugar
1 cup unsalted butter
2 teaspoons tapioca starch (or cornstarch)

Zest the grapefruit and juice it (making sure you strain the juice).
IMG_0721IMG_0722
IMG_0724

Whisk the eggs lightly in a saucepan and add all the ingredients (make sure you sift the tapioca starch as you put in because it will clump up).  Stir so that all the ingredients combine.

On a medium heat whisk continuously until butter melts and the mixture starts blending.  Once it starts to bubble turn the heat to medium low and continue whisking.  You’ll see that the mixture becomes more curd and custard like.  You’ll know it’s ready once this happens and the mixture sticks to the whisk. 
IMG_0732

Transfer into a canning jar or a container.  Without sterilizing the jars you can keep this curd in the refrigerator for about 2 weeks.  If you sterilize the jars (and the lids) you can keep this curd in a cool and dark room for few months. 

My opinion:  I personally loved the taste!  It’s less citrusy than the lemon curd (which I still love).  This has more gentle and smooth flavor.  
One word of caution:  Unlike lemon and lime curds, for some reason, the butter kept on separating with the mixture (maybe it’s the acidic content, I don’t know, I’m not a food scientist).  However, don’t panic, once it cools everything looked fine.  It just startled me because this never happened when I made lemon or lime curds.  Anyway, for me it was a minor issue and it fixed itself. 

IMG_0734

Here’s the lemon curd recipe (if you want to try this):

4 lemons (zest & juice)
4 eggs
1-1/2 cups sugar
1 cup unsalted butter
1 teaspoon tapioca starch

Follow the instructions above. 

Leave a Reply

