Baked Avocado Fries

I think I first saw Avocado Fries floating around the web few months ago.  I do have to say my first thoughts were: oh gosh, why would you want to fry avocadoes??  hmmm, that may be interesting; and you know, let me just try them. 

There are quite a few of this recipe circulating in various forms, but I used this recipe.  I like this recipe because instead of “frying” avocadoes you bake them.   Made some minor changes and here it is:

IMG_0942

Serves 3-4 (as a side dish):

2 firm-ripe medium avocadoes, pitted, peeled and sliced into 1/2 inch wedges
enough lemon juice to soak the avocado wedges
1/4 cup flour
3 Tablespoons grated Parmesan cheese
salt and pepper
2 large eggs
1-1/4 cups panko (Japanese bread crumbs)

Soak or “marinate” the avocado wedges in lemon juice coating both sides for about 10 minutes.
Preheat oven to 450.
Mix the Parmesan cheese and flour – blend well.
Sprinkle salt and pepper on avocado wedges and coat avocado wedges  in the flour mixture, then egg, then panko.
IMG_0938

Spread on a cooling rack that has been sprayed with non-stick spray, then place on a cookie sheet. Spray the top of the wedges with olive oil.
IMG_0939
Bake for about 20 minutes at 450, or until they are golden brown.
IMG_0940
IMG_0943

My opinion:  We had varying opinions with this dish; my husband and I really enjoyed these avocado fries!  My youngest daughter who usually loves avocado wasn’t too thrilled, and my oldest daughter is simply allergic to avocado so she didn’t even try this. 

It’s rather plain if you eat this by itself;  we had a great chipotle bean dip from the Whole Foods Market so we dipped the fries in there.  You can simply make any dip of your choice (I personally think chipotle & mayo or sriracha & mayo combination will go very well with these fries!!). 

Leave a Reply

