Dragon Rolls in a Bowl

IMG_0958

You must be tired of me moaning about being sick; I don’t blame you, I am tired of being sick and writing about me being sick.  At this age I’m tired of being polite and being pretentious, so you are seeing me in my raw-ness (well, as raw as I’m allowed to express myself on the internet; maybe raw-ness isn’t the right word, how about honest?  I like the word honest; you don’t want me to be raw, then I’ll end up offending many of you). 

Coughing constantly zaps every once of energy from you.  My chest cavity was hurting yesterday because I was coughing so much.  Anyway, a mother still has to perform her daily duties, which include cooking.  All my inspiration to try something new and adventurous went down the drain when I got sick.  I wanted to do something delicious, but simple.  I do like Dragon Roll, you know, something that looks like this:

dragon roll
(photo courtesy of www.neo-china.com)

I wasn’t in the mood of going through prepping for this roll (believe me, this was the last thing I wanted to do when I’m hacking away).  The next best thing was to put all the ingredients (minus the shrimp tempura, once again, was I in the mood of making shrimp tempura? NO!!) in a bowl!!  So, here is the ingredient list, roughly speaking. 

2-3 servings:

1 package of frozen broiled eel (you can buy this at any Asian markets, but look for it in Korean or Japanese markets; depending on where you buy this it will cost you anywhere from $10.00 to $13.00 for a 9 ounce package).
1 medium sized firm but ripe avocado, thinly sliced
1 kirby cucumber, julienned
nori (dried laver), sliced
umeboshi (pickled plum) paste (you can buy this at many of the health food stores or Korean/Japanese markets)
cooked short grain rice
soy sauce & wasabi

1.  Cook enough short grain rice for 2-3 servings
2.  Preheat the oven or toaster oven to 400F and bake the eel for about 15 minutes.
IMG_0944
IMG_0948

3.  Umeboshi paste tend to be more expensive than your regular umeboshi.  I just took about 5-6 regular umeboshi, de-seeded and made into paste.  Many of the umeboshi sold at the markets have red dyes in it, make sure natural colorings are added.  I bought mine without the coloring and simply added some beet juice to add some redness. 
IMG_0945
IMG_0946
IMG_0947
(beet juice just brings out more vividness, it’s purely for aesthetic, you don’t have to add beet juice if you don’t want to)

4.  Arrange all the ingredients (the way you like it).  I put some soy sauce and wasabi in a separate container so you can just add to the bowl. 

IMG_0955
IMG_0959
IMG_0961

This sure did hit the spot!!  No need to go through the process of rolling, all the taste of a Dragon Roll was compacted into this bowl!!  Ahhhh, that was good!!  Next time when I’m feeling well, I will go through the extra step and make some shrimp tempura, that would add another layer of taste to this delicious dish!!

2 thoughts on “Dragon Rolls in a Bowl

Leave a Reply

