Baked Egg in a Boat

I try to make the weekend breakfast/brunch a little special for my family.  With or without children, weekday mornings are just pure hectic (well, ok, it’s more hectic with children).  I believe in good breakfasts, so I at least try to make decent breakfasts for my family (anywhere from multi-grain toasts with various curds, jams and cheeses, eggs, oatmeal and/or quiche type of a dish).  I have to make sure my children eat hearty and healthy breakfasts to keep them focused on their school work!!

Weekends are definitely more relaxed (which I love!).  I can experiment with different recipes and make it more enjoyable : I love trying out different pancake and waffle recipes, hash browns and sausages, quiche type casseroles, etc etc!

This past Saturday’s breakfast was inspired from here!  It just looked too good and for some reason I have been into making “whatever filling you want” in a bread, such as this breakfast in a roll I made last week. 

IMG_0988

Makes 4
4 demi sourdough baguettes
5 eggs
1/3 cup heavy cream
4 ounces pancetta (or bacon), finely chopped and fried until crisp
3 ounces gruyere cheese (or any other cheese of your choice), grated
2 green onions, thinly sliced (I also added some chives)
salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
2. Cut a deep “V” through the tops of each baguette until about a 1/2 inch to the bottom. Partially unstuff the baguettes. Set aside.
IMG_0983

3. Place the eggs and cream into a mixing bowl and lightly beat together. Whisk in the remaining ingredients and lightly season with salt and pepper.
4. Divide and pour the mixture into each baguette boat and place onto a baking sheet.
IMG_0984

5. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown, puffed and set in the center. Season with salt and pepper.
IMG_0986

6. Allow to cool for about 5 minutes, cut and serve.

My opinion:  I really liked this recipe!  My family enjoyed this too, but my husband and my youngest daughter liked the Breakfast in a Roll better (I guess they liked the egg and the crustiness of the roll).  My oldest daughter and I really liked this recipe, but I guess everyone’s different and entitled to their opinions. 

Leave a Reply

