Linguine with Wilted Cabbage and Ham

I wasn’t planning on posting this recipe.  I made this for tonight’s dinner thinking “I have left over cabbage, good! I can finally use it up!”  My intention was to use up the cabbage and feed my family something substantial without resorting to my usual rice, nori, Japanese egg and potstickers (my go to dinner food when I don’t feel like cooking or don’t have any inspiration left in me). 

I go to the Whole Foods Market frequently (it’s an American based organic market.  I believe there are few in and around London, UK).  I picked up this weeks circular (flyer with store sales and coupons) and saw the Linguine with Wilted Cabbage and Ham recipe.  I didn’t want to use the ham so I used bacon instead.  We really loved the taste of bacon and cabbage in this linguine recipe I decided I had to post this on the blog!!

IMG_1018

I made few adjustments and also doubled the recipe (since my husband usually takes lunch from home). 

Serves:4-6

1 pound Linguine, cooked
12 ounce bacon (I usually get the non-nitrate bacons, slice into bite size); if you rather use ham cut about 1/2 pound into bite size pieces.
1 onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1/4 head green cabbage, cored and thinly sliced
1/4 head red cabbage, cored and thinly sliced
1 cup finely grated Pecorino Romano, plus more for serving
1/4 teaspoon finely ground black pepper

Cook the linguine until al dente.  Cook the bacon in a pan until the fat is rendered.  Scoop up the bacon and drain the fat on a plate with paper towel.  Leave about 1/4 cup of bacon fat in the pan (either discard the rest of fat or transfer in a glass jar to be used later). 

Add onions and garlic to the pan with bacon fat and sauté until onions are translucent.  Add both cabbages and cook over medium-high heat mixing well.  Cover and reduce the heat to medium low and cook, stirring halfway through, until wilted and tender. 

Add linguine, 1/4 cup pasta water (or more to moisten), Pecorino and pepper to the cabbage mixture.  Toss to combine and serve.  Garnish with more cheese, if you like. 

My opinion:  Not a low fat recipe, but oh so delicious!  If you are concerned about fat from bacon, use ham instead.  My children are not the biggest fans of cabbage, but they really loved this dish!  I made extra so that my husband can take some to work, but also for my lunch.  I can’t wait to eat this tomorrow!! 

Leave a Reply

