Maple Mustard “Man-Pleasing” Chicken & Hasselback Potatoes

My husband is getting his wisdom tooth extracted tomorrow so I thought I would make something that he would enjoy (I’m sure he’ll only be able eat soft food for the next few days or so).  I first saw this “Man-Pleasing” chicken recipe here, and then saw the photo of it on Pinterest.  It looked very… man-pleasing (ha ha, I know, I’m lame). 

IMG_1026

Serves: about 3

  • 1.5 pounds Chicken thighs (boneless and skinless, usually has about 5-6 thighs)
  • Dijon mustard- 1/2 cup
  • Maple syrup- 1/4 cup
  • Rice wine vinegar- 1 tablespoon

Preheat your oven to 450ºF. Then, mix together 1/2 cup of dijon mustard, 1/4 cup of maple syrup, and 1 tablespoon of rice wine vinegar.

Put  chicken thighs into an oven-proof baking dish.  Then, salt and pepper the thighs. Pour your maple mustard mixture over them, turning the thighs in the mixture so they are fully coated.

Put the chicken thighs into the oven, and let them bake for 40 minutes or until a meat thermometer reads 165ºF. Baste the tops of the chicken with more sauce half way through. I find that a meat thermometer is essential in cooking because it allows me to check for doneness without cutting into the meat and losing its precious juices. Let the chicken rest for 5 minutes before serving. Plate the chicken, making sure to spoon some extra sauce over the top. Sprinkle over some fresh rosemary or other fresh herbs (I didn’t have herbs so I omitted them)!

IMG_1024

Hasselback Potatoes:
6-8 medium sized potatoes (I used organic Yukon Gold)
salt and pepper, taste
olive oil

Make parallel slits (about 1/4 inch thick or even thinner) all across the potato not slicing completely. 

IMG_1023
(I don’t know if you can see all the slits I made)

Place the slit potatoes on a baking sheet. With a pastry brush, brush some olive oil on the potatoes and sprinkle with salt and pepper. 

When you bake the chicken put the potatoes in the oven and bake for the same duration as the chicken.  Half way through the cooking time, switch the pans so that they are cooked evenly. 

IMG_1025

My opinion:  Wow!  this is just not “man-pleasing”, but “woman-pleasing” and “children-pleasing” chicken!!  The chickens came out tender and juicy;  love the simple blended flavor of maple syrup and dijon mustard!  Potatoes went well with the chicken, and I also cooked sautéed kale and onions.  Well worth my husband’s last supper, I mean, his dinner before his tooth extraction…

Leave a Reply

