Jelly Doughnut Cupcakes

This is the 2nd cupcake I made for my daughter’s Computer Fair display.  Unlike the Chocolate S’mores Cupcakes, this Jelly Doughnut is clean and fresh tasting (because you add some lemon zest) and very simple.  I found this recipe here. I personally prefer this cupcake over the s’mores cupcake (which is also very good), because I like my cakes simple. 

IMG_1049

Ingredients:

1 cup flour
1/2 cup light brown sugar
½ cup milk
1/4 cup butter, at room temperature
1 egg, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 teaspoon baking powder
½ teaspoon lemon zest
1/4 teaspoon salt
good quality red jelly (any flavor)
powdered sugar

Directions:
Preheat the oven to 350. Grease and flour or line 6-8 wells in a cupcake pan. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add egg, vanilla, zest and milk beat well. Add the flour, baking powder and salt. Beat until the batter is light and fluffy. Fill each well 2/3 of the way filled. Bake approximately 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle of the middle cupcake comes out clean. Cool on a wire rack and take a small corer, knife or melon baller and scoop out some of the center of the cupcake. Fill with jelly (I just spooned it in). Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

IMG_1047

My opinion:  Tastes nothing like jelly doughnuts, but with it’s subtle citrusy taste, I think it’s a winner!  As I mentioned, I love simple and clean flavor, and this basically summarizes the cupcake.  Jelly in the center adds a nice flavor and texture as you’re biting into this cupcake!

Leave a Reply

