Slow Cooker Butter Chicken

I don’t know if I have to say anymore; I think the title says it all!  For those people who know me, I love anything Indian.  I grow my own curry plant, when I have time I usually roast my own spices to make different mix of spices, and in India I just clung to the woman who cooked for us and just watched her cook, yeah, I’m sure she thought I was a weird foreigner.    However,  since I can’t quite make the time to do all these lately  I was really excited when I found this recipe here!

I initially had to overcome not sautéing my spices first, but my desperation took the better part of me and I dove into this slow cooker version of Butter Chicken!

IMG_1119
Once again, please forgive my presentation, I just wanted to feed my family and eat! and yes, you can definitely sprinkle the chopped cilantro in a more genteel way than how I dumped it on the mound!  I also made it little less spicy since my oldest daughter isn’t too crazy about the spicy hotness, but it was still very very very good!!

Serves 4
4-6 boneless chicken thighs cut into bite-sized pieces
1 onion diced
3 cloves garlic minced
2 tbsp butter
2 tbsp oil

Stir fry chicken, onion and garlic in frying pan on medium heat until the chicken has some color and the onion is translucent. Then pour entire contents of pan into crock pot.
Then add:

15 green cardamom pods (can be strung together with needle and thread – or put it in a round tea straining ball, or just put them in the mixture)
2 tsp curry powder
1 tbsp curry paste (like Patak’s mild curry paste**)
1 tsp cayenne powder (optional) It’s really hot if you add this
2 tsp tandoori masala (or in my case I used Achar Gosht spice mix, another spice mix for meat curry found at SouthAsian market)
1 tsp garam masala
1 can coconut milk (you can even do half a can and half a can of water, it still tastes good with less fat)
1 cup plain yogurt
1 5.5 fl oz can of tomato paste
Salt to taste

Mix gently and cook on high heat 4-6 hours or low heat 6-8 hours. Eat with basmati or naan.

My opinion: I am really happy I made this.  I just prepped in the morning, followed the direction and let it cook in the slow cooker.  I was able to finish what I had to do during the day and just chopped some veggies to make some salad right before dinner time.   It was really really delicious, and I will definitely make it again!

Update: Today is February 6, 2013, and since this original post (April 11, 2012) I have made this countless times.  I just wanted to tell you that you can alter this any way you want.  I have tried this without sauteeing the chicken, onions and garlic; instead of cutting the chicken into bite size pieces I have just put the whole thigh meat with bones, and I also have added potatoes and carrots.  Every time they came out as delicious as the first time.  I think few times I forgot to add cardamom, but still came out great!  We seriously love this recipe!

Leave a Reply

