Homemade Nutella

I’ve been meaning to make this for a little while.  Our family loves Nutella (who doesn’t??), but we have bunch of Nutella addicts in my household and I wanted to a healthier alternative to store bought Nutella (I know I’m only fooling myself into thinking this way, but you know what I mean). 

There are handful of homemade Nutella recipes out there, but I like this recipe.  Amazingly, this whole process didn’t take long and I have a feeling I’ll be making more of Nutella in the days to come… 

IMG_1173

Yields: about 8-10 ounce jar

  • 1 cup hazelnuts
  • 12 ounces milk chocolate, chopped (I used 8 ounces of dark and 4 ounces of milk chocolate – please use high quality chocolates!!)
  • 2 tablespoons mild vegetable oil, such as canola (I used Safflower oil)
  • 3 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 1 tablespoonun sweetened cocoa powder (I omitted this)
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt, more or less depending upon your preference
  • 1. Preheat the oven to 350°F (176°C).
  • 2. Spread the hazelnuts in a single layer on a baking sheet and toast them in the oven for about 12 minutes, until they’ve browned a little and the skins are blistered a little. Wrap them in a kitchen towel and rub vigorously to remove as much loose skin as possible. (Some skin will cling to the nuts when you’re done. It’s okay—not to mention inevitable.) Let cool completely.
  • IMG_1164

  • 3. Melt the chocolate in a saucepan over gently simmering water or in the microwave. Stir until smooth. Let cool completely.
  • 4. In a food processor, grind the hazelnuts until they form a paste.
  • IMG_1168
    Add the oil, sugar, cocoa powder, vanilla, and salt and continue processing until the mixture is as smooth as possible–or as smooth as you like. Add the melted chocolate, blend well, and then strain the mixture to remove any chunks of hazelnut that remain.

    The resulting homemade Nutella will be thin and somewhat runny and maybe even a little warm but it will thicken as it cools. Scrape your homemade nutella into a jar or other resealable container and let it cool to room temperature. Cover the container after snitching several spoonfuls. The nutella will keep on the counter for up to 2 weeks.

    IMG_1174
    My opinion:
    Oh my gosh, where do I begin??  Well, first of all, let me tell you up front – I won’t be buying the store bought Nutella anymore.  Yes, this is extra thing I have to do, but after making this I don’t know if I can go back to the store bought ones. 

    I didn’t strain the mixture because the hazelnut granules were so tiny I thought it added character and another level of tasting experience (and plus I didn’t want to go through an extra step –ha!).  I was a bit too eager, I couldn’t wait for the mixture to cool down on the counter I put them in the refrigerator instead.  That was a mistake, because I ended up doing other chores and forgot about it and by the time I took it out it was hard.  I had to bring it up to a room temperature in order to spread this on the bread (so, yup, it took longer time). 

    This homemade Nutella is a bit more pasty.  Unlike the store bought Nutella, it doesn’t have lecithin (as an emulsifier) so it doesn’t “flow”, but my children said the homemade Nutella is easier to spread on the bread. Since you’re also roasting your hazelnut, you get more intense hazelnut flavor (but it isn’t strong at all).    We all LOOOOOOVED this!!!

    Leave a Reply

    