Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oh my gosh, can I be honest with you? I don’t even like Oreos (I know, shoot me, but I never liked the chocolate cookie wafers getting stuck in between my teeth).  What possessed me to bake these cookies?!  My daughter asked me if I can bake something for her Literature class celebration (aka party).  I was going to bake Chocolate Chip Cheesecake Bars, because these were a huge hit last time I baked and sent to the school.

 However, I stumbled across this Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies here and my jaw dropped.  I couldn’t believe anyone will eat these, because they looked like pure sin to me!!  My daughter looked at it and said she wanted these for her party; well, can’t be that bad right?? 

IMG_1332

I have this aversion to hydrogenated oil and other stuff, so I went to my organic market and bought their version of “Oreo” cookies:
IMG_1314

Makes about 24:

• 1 cup shortening (I used vegetable shortening from my organic store)
• 1 cup packed light brown sugar
• 1/2 cup granulated sugar
• 2 large eggs
• 2 tablespoon vanilla extract
• 3 cups flour
• 1 teaspoon salt
• 1 teaspoon baking soda
• 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
• 1 package Double Stuff Oreo cookies

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, cream shortening, brown sugar, and granulated sugar together with a mixer until well combined. Beat in eggs and vanilla.
In medium bowl mix the flour, salt, and baking soda. Slowly add to wet ingredients along with chocolate chips until just combined.
With a cookie scoop, form balls with the dough. Place one ball on top of an Oreo cookie, and another ball on the bottom. Seal edges together by pressing and cupping in hand until Oreo cookie is fully enclosed with dough.
IMG_1317
IMG_1318
Place onto parchment or silpat lined baking sheets and bake cookies for approximately 13 minutes or until golden brown. Let cool for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

IMG_1321
IMG_1325

My opinion:  My cookies came out to be about 2 to 2-1/2 inches in diameter.  These are pretty rich (duh!)… I also chilled the cookie dough in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.  You can also substitute with other cookies, I’m thinking minty cookies will probably go well in this recipe.    If you have sweet tooth you would want to swim in these, but I highly discourage you doing that.  My children were in heaven when we taste tested these.  I decided to cut the cookies into halves and send these to my daughter’s school.  I don’t want to be responsible for making other children overweight.

Leave a Reply

