Cheese and Marmite Pasties

My husband and my oldest daughter love Marmite/Vegemite.  They like to spread on toasts and bagels, or they’ll lick the left over Marmite on the butter knife as if it’s a lollipop. 

If you don’t know what Marmite is, it’s a yeast extract (a by product from beer brewing);  Marmite is from the UK, and Vegemite is an Australian counterpart. 

Since my husband and my daughter only use Marmite on breads, I was looking for a recipe that will incorporate into a dish.  When I found this recipe here I was overjoyed!  I really like BBC Good Food, it’s one of the few food sites where it “speaks” to me.  We love pasties in our family and at least  2 out of the 4 members of our family love Marmite. 

IMG_1369

Can yield from 10-20 pasties:

**You will have left over fillings, you can use extra pastry dough to finish up the fillings or decrease the measurements of the filling.

**If you have a cooking scale DO use it!! I have mine from Japan and it’s served me really well. 

  • 500g (about 3-4 medium size) potatoes , peeled and grated (about 4 medium sized potatoes; I also grated some carrots)
  • 200g (1-3/4cups)  mature cheddar (or vegetarian alternative), grated
  • 100g (1-1/4 cups) soft breadcrumbs
  • bunch spring onions , thinly sliced
  • 2 eggs
  • 500g pack shortcrust pastry (I bought the “ready made pie-crust”, depending on the size of the disc you cut out you’ll need about 2 packages)
  • a little flour , for dusting
  • 2 tbsp Marmite (I used Vegemite)

IMG_1362
(I bought my Vegemite online, but if you live in or near Philadelphia, you can buy Marmite at the Whole Foods Market or the Wegmans).

  1. Put the grated potato, cheese, breadcrumbs and spring onions into a mixing bowl with 1 egg. Sprinkle over 1 tsp salt and plenty of freshly ground black pepper. Mix together.
  2. Roll out the pastry on a lightly floured surface to just slightly thicker than a £1 coin. Use a 16-17cm saucer (I made mine about 13cm – 5inches) or bowl to cut out 6 circles of pastry – you may need to re-roll trimmings to get the last one. Warm the Marmite in a small pan or in the microwave with a splash of water so it is a bit runnier, then brush over each circle, leaving a 2-3cm border around each edge.
  3. Divide the filling between the middles of each circle, then beat remaining egg and brush a little around each border.
  4. For each, bring up 2 sides of pastry to meet over the filling, and pinch and crimp to seal into a pasty shape. If eating straight away, transfer pasties to a baking sheet and chill while you heat oven to 160C/140C fan/gas 3 (325F). Or leave on the tray, wrap well in cling film and freeze for up to 3 months.
  5. Brush the pasties all over with more egg. Bake for 50 mins-1 hr until golden brown and crisp. Eat warm, or cool, in the next 24 hrs.

IMG_1363
IMG_1365
IMG_1366

My opinion:
As expected, my husband and my oldest daughter loved these pasties.  My daughter asked if she can take some for her school lunch tomorrow!  I’m not a Vegemite/Marmite person; even I thought the pasties were very savory and reminded me of comfort food.  Vegemite blended really well with rest of the ingredients and lost its “potency” (truthfully, I always thought Vegemite/Marmite had too strong of a taste for me).  I made extra and froze enough for the next time!

Leave a Reply

