Fruity Flag Traybake

Today my family and I had a mini Jubilee celebration! It’s difficult to fathom one monarch reigning for 60 years, but hooray to Queen Elizabeth for her long reign (despite her flaws, but don’t we all have those…).  You might be wondering about me at this point, “Does she live in the UK?”  “Is she from the UK…”, I’m sorry I’m neither.  However, growing up in Japan most of my teachers at my International school from Kindergarten to 5th grade were from the UK, so I feel this kindred spirit when I think about the UK.  Anyway, to commemorate Queen Elizabeth’s 60 year reign, I found this delicious looking cake from BBC Good Food. 

IMG_1417
I tried my best to make this look like the UK flag, I hope I’m not bringing shame to my UK friends…

  • 100g (7 Tablespoons) butter softened, plus extra for the tin
  • 175g (a little less than 1-1/2 cups) self-raising flour
  • 50g (a little less than 1/2 cup) ground almonds (I used almond meals)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 4 large eggs
  • 225g (1-1/8 cup) caster sugar
  • 125ml (1/2 cup) full-fat Greek yogurt
  • zest 2 lemons (I used Meyer lemons)
FOR THE BUTTER ICING
  • 175g butter , softened
  • 350g icing sugar , sieved
TO DECORATE
  • 300g raspberries
  • 175g blueberries

**For my cake above, instead of using the recommended Butter Icing, I used the whipped topping: Add 1 cup heavy cream, 2 Tablespoons powdered sugar and 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extra.  Beat until it forms a semi stiff peak. 

***Once again, if you have a kitchen scale it’ll be more accurate than just converting into the American standard, but I converted to the best of my ability.

  1. Heat oven to 180C/160C fan/gas 4 (350F). Butter and line a 30 x 20cm traybake (use the 9×13 pan) tin with baking parchment. Measure all the sponge ingredients into a mixing bowl and mix together using an electric hand whisk until smooth. Spoon into the tin and level the surface.
  2. Bake for 25-30 mins until lightly golden and the top of the cake springs back when pressed with your finger, and the sides of the sponge are shrinking away from the sides of the tin. Carefully lift the sponge out of the tin, then transfer to a wire rack to cool. Remove the baking parchment.
  3. To make the icing, tip the butter into a bowl and whisk using an electric hand whisk until light and fluffy. Add half the icing sugar and whisk again until incorporated. Add the remaining sugar and whisk again until smooth. Spread the icing over the top of the cold cake.
  4. To decorate, place a double row of raspberries across the center and down the length of the cake to make a cross. Next, place a single row diagonally from each corner to the middle. Now fill in the empty spaces with blueberries. Cut into squares to serve.

IMG_1418
IMG_1420

My opinion:

I am so glad I substituted butter icing to whipped topping.  The lightness of the whipped cream went very well with the semi-dense (yet moist) cake filled with light lemony flavor.  Almond meal and Greek yogurt adds the moistness to this cake, but the denseness isn’t overwhelming at all.  Mission accomplished!

Leave a Reply

