Coronation Pies (and Mozzarella, Tomato & Avocado Salad)

This is my 200th post!! I’ve been putting some pressure on myself to make this post special, but once the weather turned hot again (we had about 2 weeks of beautiful weather!!) my brain shut down.   I made peace with myself about my 200th post, I just chose a recipe from BBC Good Food which I intended to make for Queen Elizabeth’s Jubilee celebration, but didn’t get around to it…
I chose Coronation Pies because the recipe enveloped everything I find in comfort food: pastry and South Asian flavors!

I adapted the salad from here (I like this blog because it’s so honest and clean blog layout).  I added 1/8 cup of balsamic vinegar and 1/8 cup of lemon juice instead of all lemon juice.  I didn’t have the mozzarella pearls so I sliced the whole mozzarella. 

IMG_1464

Makes about 1 dozen:

  • 1 Tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 onion , chopped
  • 2 Tablespoon medium curry powder
  • 3 Tablespoons mango chutney
  • 140g (about 1 large) cooked chicken breasts , diced into chunks
  • 140g (1/2 cup)  soured cream
  • knob of butter
  • 500g pack shortcrust pastry(Ready made pie crust in the states)
  • flour , for dusting
  • 1 egg , beaten
  • 2 Tablespoons flaked almonds

Heat the oil in a small frying pan. Cook the onion in the oil until soft, about 5 mins, then stir in the curry powder and cook for 1 min more. Scrape into a mixing bowl and stir in the mango chutney, followed by the chicken and soured cream, then season.

Heat oven to 200C/180C fan/gas 6 (400F). Cut 24 strips of baking parchment as wide as the base of your muffin tin and grease one side with a little butter to help them stay in place. Criss-cross 2 into each hole of a 12-hole muffin tin so the edges of the strips stick out – this will help you remove the pies easily once cooked. Thinly roll out three-quarters of the pastry on a lightly floured surface. Stamp out 12 circles big enough to line the holes generously, with a little pastry overhang at the top for sealing.
IMG_1447

Divide the chicken filling between the pies. Roll out remaining pastry and cut 12 lids. Top each pie with a pastry lid, press together the edges to seal and roll down any excess pastry to make a lipped-edge. Brush the tops with more beaten egg and scatter with almonds. Poke a fork in each to let the steam out while they cook and bake for 20-25 mins or until golden and cooked through.

    IMG_1449
    IMG_1451
    IMG_1453
    IMG_1456
    IMG_1459

    My opinion

    I was dragging my feet and complaining as I was cooking this.  If you know me by now, I cannot handle hot weather.  I had to fully blast my air con and focus all my attention on this.  Even though I was using the ready made pie crusts, it took a bit of time cutting them out into circles, etc.  After everything was done and when it was time to eat I was too exhausted.  Then I took my first bite into this pie, and out came “WOOOOW” – enough said, right? 

    Oh boy, it was soooo  well worth my effort.  My family truly appreciated this pie;  such a well balanced flavor of curry, sweet mango, and roundedness of sour cream all encased in a pastry!  My heart may not have been focused in the beginning, but after eating the pie I felt like a queen!  Salad was very refreshing, just like my favorite Caprese salad with the creaminess of avocado.  You can make any type of salad you like, I decided to make this particular salad because it’s one of my favorite salad!

    Leave a Reply

    