Sticky Bun Breakfast Ring

Do you feel that the time is flying by really fast??  I used to think that time went extra slow when I was a child, however, as I grew older I’m constantly muttering “what? when did the time go??”.   I can’t believe it’s Father’s Day already this coming Sunday.  After the Father’s Day comes my birthday in 2 weeks, then a week after that we’re leaving for a 3 week vacation in Peru!

Ok, before I start to panic let’s go back to the Father’s Day.  I usually don’t buy refrigerated biscuits, but I wanted to make cupcake version of chicken pot pie with the biscuits.  I quickly lost that interest so I had few containers of refrigerated biscuits.  Hmmm, what to do, what to do.  I don’t like just baking them because I don’t like the taste, so I was trying to look for a recipe what will interest my taste bud.  Then I found this recipe here and I felt my problem was solved.  I thought this would be a really good breakfast for Father’s Day.  I wanted to make it first to make sure it tasted good. 

IMG_1446

2 small tubes refrigerator buttermilk biscuits
3 Tbsp. butter, melted
1/2 C. pancake syrup (I used maple syrup)
1/3 C. packed light brown sugar
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1/4 C. chopped pecans, optional
1/4 C. chopped almonds, optional

Spray a fluted pan with non-stick spray. Combine the melted butter and syrup in a small bowl and set aside. In another bowl, combine the brown sugar, cinnamon, and nuts (if desired). Place about half of the syrup mixture in the bottom of the pan. Then sprinkle half of the brown sugar mixture on top. Lay the biscuits on the bottom of the pan, overlapping edges (closely together) to form a ring. Top with remaining syrup and sugar mixtures.
IMG_1440
IMG_1444
Top with remaining syrup and sugar mixtures. Bake at 375 degrees for approximately 20-25 minutes or until golden brown. Cool for 1 minute in the pan, then invert onto a serving platter.
IMG_1445

My opinion:

I had enough refrigerated biscuits to make 2 pans, so I gave one pan to my neighbor friend.  Considering that this is refrigerated biscuit and super simple it tasted pretty darn good.  As I stated above for the ingredients, I used maple syrup instead of pancake syrup.  Not to be snooty, but I haven’t bought pancake syrup in many many years (I just don’t like all the artificial ingredients in the pancake syrup.  If I can use maple syrup why use the artificial variety?? is my motto).   Maybe because I used maple syrup I wasn’t able to invert the pan.  The bottom became slightly caramelized and it became almost like maple candy.  Next time I need to try to keep the pan in the oven for a short time and invert it right away (well, let’s see if that works). 

Overall, this is a great brunch recipe and if you are short of time for the Father’s Day or any special day, you’ll enjoy this recipe!

Leave a Reply

