Better than “fill in the blank” cake

My sin from my own standards of food choice continues as we progress to the Father’s Day dessert.  To read my “sin” in detail check my  Cowboy Casserole post .    When I came home with a cake mix, my youngest daughter looked at the cake mix and said, “mom, you bought a cake mix?? I’ve never seen you buy this!!”  *sigh…

I chose this cake because it just looked extremely simple and low maintenance.  Something appropriate for a warm night and it suited my non-baking mood today.  The original name of this cake is “Better than Sex Cake”, however, I don’t know if I can name this.  Well, first of all, I don’t know if it was better than sex, maybe for some people it is.  So, the next best thing is to put whatever name you want to plug in – it can be “Better than Bubbly Bath Cake” or “Better than Working out Cake”, I don’t know, just plug in a name!  This recipe came from here, and if you search online there are tons of the same type of cake floating around the web.  Everything looks very simple and good.  However, as I said in my Cowboy Casserole post, once the weather cools down, I will have to find a healthier alternative to this… 

IMG_1485

1 (18.5 oz) package yellow cake mix (do not use the pudding in the mix type)
2/3 cup sugar
1 (20 oz.) can crushed pineapple
1 (6 oz.) package instant vanilla pudding mix
1 tub non-dairy whipped topping
flaked or shredded coconut

Directions:
1. Grease and flour a 9×13 inch cake pan, bake the cake according to package directions.
2. Put holes into the top of the cake (use toothpicks or wooden skewers)
3. Mix pineapple and sugar then pour over cake.
4. Cook the pudding according to the package directions and pour over cake. Chill in refrigerator.
5. Spread whipped topping over cake and sprinkle coconut on top.
6. Keep refrigerated.

IMG_1481

My opinion:

I mean, seriously, who doesn’t like cool whip or vanilla pudding??  The only problem is that it’s loaded with artificial ingredients and I can’t allow myself to cook with these.  I think the last time I used cool whip and instant vanilla pudding was maybe 2 years ago??  However, aside from this, I would like to tell you that this cake was pretty spectacular!  Pineapple juice soaked into the cake, topped with crushed pineapples, pudding and cool whip!  Really simple and a good Summer time cake. 

Leave a Reply

