Slow Cooker Keema (Ground meat with peas)

I am proud to tell you that I have been using my slow cooker many times during this Summer!  Few years back I bought a new slow cooker so that I can make some soup and stew during Fall/Winter time, but little did I know that the slow cooker will save me from the hot Summer cooking!!

Tonight I made one of the traditional Indian (I believe mainly from the northern part) dish called “Keema”.  I read that “Keema” means minced meat (whether that is a true meaning, I’ll have to ask around).  Keema can be made with practically any minced meat, and it can either be stewed or fried.  For my keema, I chose ground turkey and I used my slow cooker!!  This awesome recipe comes from “The Indian Slow Cooker” by Anupy Singla.

Makes in 5 quart slow cooker ( for a 3-1/2 quart, just halve all the ingredients); 7 hours on HIGH. 

4 pounds (2kg) minced meat
1/2 cup (118ml) vegetable/canola oil (if your meat has higher fat, just reduce the amount of oil)
1 yellow or red onion, peeled and roughly chopped
1-4 inch piece ginger, peeled and cubed
20 cloves garlic, peeled
4-6 green Thai, serrano, or cayenne chiles, stems removed (if you are not comfortable with spicy dish, reduce the amount of chiles or omit them)
1-16 ounce (360g) can tomato puree
8 fresh or dried Indian or regular bay leaves
4 Tablespoons ground cumin
4 Tablespoons ground coriander
2 Tablespoons ground garam masala
2 Tablespoons red chile powder (reduce the amount if you don’t like spicy dish)
2 Tablespoons salt
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2 cups fresh or frozen peas

Turn slow cooker to high and add the meat and oil.  Allow it to heat up while you prep the other ingredients.

In a food processor, grind the onion, ginger, garlic, and green chiles into a paste.  Add this mixture to the slow cooker, along with the tomato puree, bay leaves, cumin, coriander, garam masala, red chile powder, salt, and turmeric. 

Cook on high for 7 hours.  Turn the slow cooker off and add the cilantro and peas.  (If the peas are fresh, cook them in boiling water for about 3 minutes before adding.)  Replace the cover and let sit for 10 minutes. 

Eat with steaming basmati rice and fresh onions on the side. 

IMG_6925

My opinion: Once again I was pleasantly surprised!  Now I feel invincible with my slow cooker at my side!!  Obviously, this is not dry keema, but let me tell you, the sauce from this keema over rice is wonderful! The meat is so tender ( melt in your mouth feel ), and all the spices incorporate in to this dish so well!  I just love it!!

Leave a Reply

