Slow Cooker Spiced Vegetables & Potatoes (Indian Style)

I am a slow cooker fiend!! Well, not quite, but I’m having some good time cooking up some wholesome food in my slow cooker lately.  I have been really enjoying trying out different slow cooker recipes from The Indian Slow Cooker by Anupy Singla.  I’m also really excited to post more recipes from this cookbook!  Today I was in a bit of a dilemma.  My cousin recently gave me some vegetables from her CSA and I wanted to use them up, but I didn’t want to turn on my oven nor my stovetop.  I looked through the Indian Slow Cooker and decided to use Singla’s Aloo Gobi (Spiced Cauliflower and Potatoes), but instead of cauliflower I added all my beautiful CSA vegetables. 

IMG_6930

For a 5 quart slow cooker; cooking time: 3 hours low.  (To make this dish in a 3-1/2 quart slow cooker, halve all the ingredients and proceed with the recipe).

I will write down the original recipe first and tell you what I did with this recipe.

1 large cauliflower, washed and cut into 1 inch pieces
1 large potato (russet or yellow), peeled and diced
1 medium yellow or red onion, peeled and coarsely chopped
1 medium tomato, diced (optional)
1 – 2 inch piece ginger, peeled and grated
3 cloves garlic, peeled and chopped, minced or grated
3-4 green Thai, serrano, or cayenne chiles, stems removed, chopped or sliced lengthwise (if you don’t like spicy food you can either reduce the amount of chiles or omit them)
1 Tablespoon cumin seeds
1 Tablespoon red chile powder
1 Tablespoon garam masala
1 Tablespoon salt
1 teaspoon turmeric powder
3 Tablespoons vegetable/canola oil
1 heaping Tablespoon fresh cilantro, chopped

Put all the ingredients except the cilantro in the slow cooker.  Mix well.

Cook on low for 3 hours.  Mix once or twice during cooking, especially in the beginning.  Eventually the cauliflower will release enough liquid to prevent anything from sticking to the sides of the slow cooker.

Add cilantro.  Mix well but gently so as not to break up the cauliflower.  Serve with roti or naan and a side of onion and cucumber salad. 

What I did:
IMG_6927
These are some CSA vegetables I received from my cousin.  A giant yellow squash (easy 5 pounder!), mini beets with beet greens, and arugula.  Yes, I used up all of these (including the beet greens!).  I also added about 3 medium sized yukon gold potatoes.  I chopped the beet greens & arugula, peeped the beets, and diced the potatoes & squash.   Due to the large amount of vegetables I doubled the amount of spices (the amount of salt stayed the same). 

My opinion:  I am really really happy with the result!! The spices blended very well with all the vegetables: squash & potatoes maintained their shapes; beets surprisingly tasted delicious in this dish and the greens absorbed the spices and the sauce.  It was delicious eating with our leftover keema from last night!

Leave a Reply

