Slow Cooker Chicken Parmesan

I am amazed at variety of recipes you can actually make in the slow cooker.  I’m sure many don’t taste quite like the original, but they come pretty close; in another words they don’t taste shabby at all.  

My children are going back to school tomorrow (yay!!) so I have been busy trying to organize different things around the house before the new school year madness starts up again.  Once again I turned to my trustworthy slow cooker for help.  At this point I am VERY tempted to get a second slow cooker, hmmm….  Anyway, today’s recipe is from Crockpot 365 (this blog author only cooked slow cooker food for – yup, you guessed it, 365 days!!)  I was a bit unsure how Chicken Parmesan will come out in a slow cooker, but hey, worth giving it a try. 

IMG_7285 

2-4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves (I used chicken boneless/skinless thighs)
1/2 cup bread crumbs
1/4 cup parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon Italian Seasoning (I didn’t have Italian Seasoning so I just mixed 1/4 teaspoon crushed basil and 1/4 teaspoon crushed oregano)
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
1 Tablespoon olive oil
1 beaten egg
sliced mozzarella cheese
favorite jarred marinara sauce


Spread the 1 T of olive oil into the bottom of your crockpot stoneware insert
Whip the egg with a fork in a separate bowl
Mix the bread crumbs with the seasonings and the parmesan cheese in another separate dish
Dip the chicken into the egg, then into the bread crumb mixture, coating both sides with crumbs, cheese and seasonings
Place the chicken breast pieces in the bottom of the crock
Layer 2-3 slices of mozzarella cheese on top

IMG_7281
IMG_7282
IMG_7283
IMG_7284

Cover with entire jar of marinara sauce
Close lid and cook on low for 6-7 hours or high for 3-4. If your chicken is still frozen, it will take longer.
Serve with your favorite pasta.
My Opinion:  Seriously, this is not bad at all;  all it’s missing is the crispness from frying the chicken on a frying pan.  Look, if I have time and energy to stand and fry the chicken ofcourse, I’ll make it the original way, but when I’m busy and don’t feel like standing in front of the stovetop and sweating this is a wonderful substitute!!  My family really enjoyed this.  Maybe some of you are picky about your chicken parmesan, then by all means, rename this slow cooker recipe to something else and you’ll really enjoy it!!

Leave a Reply

