Pancake Squares

I think I can safely say that the weather has turned in Philadelphia!  No more unbearably muggy hot weather, rather we have cool and crisp evenings and mornings, and clear blue sky with comfortable warmth during the day.  I’m really loving it!!  I was feeling so good this morning I decided to try this new pancake recipe from here.  It looked interesting enough, and I was tempted with just baking the whole pancake versus standing in front of the stovetop and flipped about dozen or so pancakes. 

IMG_7318

I was a bit skeptical at first, because wouldn’t baking pancake batter just create something more like a cake??  Well, I was in such a good mood I was willing to try this (thinking in either way we can still eat this).

This will yield 1 – 8×8 inch square pan;  I doubled the recipe and used a 9×13 pan.  

3/4 cup milk
2 Tablespoons melted butter
1 large egg
1 Tablespoon sugar
1 cup flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Lightly grease an 8×8 baking dish. In a large mixing bowl, beat together milk, butter and egg. Add sugar, then gradually beat the flour in. Carefully stir in the baking powder and salt. Pour batter into prepared pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

IMG_7321
IMG_7320

My opinion:  Oh my word, my family and I were pleasantly surprised by this!  It had the fluffiness of pancakes and ofcourse tasted like pancakes.  These were really delicious!!  When I have to feed lots of people, I think I’ll just “bake” the pancakes and maybe bake 2 – 9×13 pans!  Seriously, a huge hit! 

I think you can also easily substitute regular flour with whole wheat flour and add flaxseed and/or bran.  You can even put agave syrup instead of sugar.  Definitely worth experimenting to make a bit more healthy if you’re concerned about your health. 

Leave a Reply

