Slow Cooker Carrot Halwa

Have you had carrot halwa at Indian restaurants?  It’s the ultra sweet shredded carrot dessert dish that will cure all sweet tooth cravings (well, maybe not the chocolate craving…).   Anyway, traditionally this halwa dish takes the whole day of standing in front of the stove top stirring to make sure that the milk doesn’t overflow.  I’m really happy I can make this really tasty halwa in a slow cooker!!  Bulk of the time is cooked in a slow cooker, however, the last 30-45 minutes will be done in a pot over the stovetop.  Today’s recipe comes from Anupy Singla’s “The Indian Slow Cooker”, in fact you’ll find few of her recipes on my blog so please check them out! 

IMG_7385

Makes in a 5 quart slow cooker and will yield about 7 cups (for a 3-1/2 quart slow cooker just halve all the ingredients).  I made few measurement changes and they are indicated in bold letters. 

2 pounds (1.2 kg) carrots, peeled and washed thoroughly
6 cups (1.42 L) whole milk (I’m sure you can use reduced fat milk, but not the fat-free milk)
2 cups (402 g) sugar (I only used 1 cup)
1 cup (201 g) raw almonds, crushed or chopped
1/2 cup (118 ml) melted ghee or butter ( I used 1/3 cup butter)
1/2 cup (100 g) golden raisins (I used regular raisins)
1/2 teaspoon (2 ml) ground cardamom (I used 1 teaspoon)
1 Tablespoon (15 ml) ground pistachios
1 Tablespoon (15 ml) ground almonds

Grate the carrots by hands or in a food processor.  Try not to use the store bought grated carrots because they are too thick and too long).  Put the carrots in the slow cooker.

Bring the milk to a boil on the stovetop and pour it over the carrots in the slow cooker.
IMG_7383
Cook for 3 hours on high.  Remove the slow cooker lid and cook for another 3 hours on high.  Replace the lid, but leave it slightly open and cook on high for 3 more hours.  By now, the carrots will be cooked and will look soft and watery. 

Transfer the carrot mixture to a wide, heavy pan and cook on the stovetop on medium-high for 15 minutes.

Add the sugar and continue cooking, stirring, for another 15 minutes.  While stirring, slowly add the crushed almonds and the ghee/butter.  Add the raisins and ground cardamom and continue stirring. 

When the carrot mixture pulls away from the sides of the pan on its own and becomes thicker, it’s done.  Take the pan off the heat and let the mixture cool for about 15 minutes. 

Garnish with the ground pistachio and almonds. 

IMG_7389

My opinion: So delicious!!  I am glad I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, it was still sweet enough, but I wouldn’t reduce below 3/4 cup.  Slow Cooker cooking time is divided into 3 – 3 hour segments.  I cooked the full 3  hours for the first part, but the second & third parts I only cooked for about 2 hours (and it still came out fine). 

This is a very rich dessert;  reducing the sugar and ghee/butter still produced a very rich flavor, so eat in small quantity.

I recently found a 26 year old slow cooker from Japan!
IMG_7382
The one on the left is my regular slow cooker and the one on the right was brought from Japan by my mom 26 years ago! 
With my regular slow cooker I cooked Butter Chicken, and with the smaller one I cooked this Carrot Halwa!

Leave a Reply

